KAST vs Tangem Pay: Custody and Card Rails Compared

Both KAST and Tangem Pay provide Visa cards funded with stablecoins, but they rely on fundamentally different custody models. As a custodial money app, KAST pairs virtual and physical Visa cards with US account numbers and EU IBANs. Deposits arrive via USDT, USDC, PENGU, and over 25 other coins across more than 10 networks, earning up to 3% stablecoin cashback.

Tangem Pay operates inside the Tangem Wallet app, tying card balances to a smart contract account rather than a full custodial app structure. Issued by Rain, the card accepts USDC and USDT funding on four networks: Polygon, Base, BNB Smart Chain, and Arbitrum. KAST supports ACH payments and SEPA transfers and is available in 170+ countries, while Tangem Pay caters directly to hardware wallet owners who want mobile payments through Apple Pay or Google Pay with up to 4% cashback.

KAST3.7/5
VS

Quick verdict

KAST functions like a digital bank account, giving cardholders dedicated US account numbers and EU IBANs alongside spending access. Tangem Pay links directly to hardware wallet software, keeping card balances inside user-controlled smart contract accounts.

Choose KAST if you need dedicated US or EU banking rails to receive ACH, wire, or SEPA transfers, want to spend a wider variety of tokens beyond USDC and USDT, or require a physical card shipped internationally.

Choose Tangem Pay if you prefer keeping balances managed through smart contracts connected to Tangem Wallet, need low-cost ACH top-ups at $1, and primarily spend USDC or USDT on Base, Polygon, Arbitrum, or BNB Smart Chain.

Feature
Ratings
Our score3.7/53.6/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Fees2.54.0
Rewards & cashback4.03.5
Availability4.53.0
App & experience4.04.0
Trust & security3.53.5
Fees & features
Card typePrepaidDebit
Card networkVisaVisa
Card formatVirtual, PhysicalVirtual, Physical
CustodyCustodialSelf-custodial
KYC required Yes Yes
Business card Yes No
Max cashback3%4%
Rewards paid inUSD stablecoinsUSDC
Staking needed for top rewards NoNot disclosed
Welcome bonusNot disclosedUp to $75, coming soon
Card issuance feeFreeFree
Monthly feeFreeFree
Annual feeFreeFree
Top-up feeNot disclosedACH $1 flat fee, free on Plus; FedWire $11 flat fee; network fees apply to crypto top-ups
ATM withdrawalsNot disclosedBasic 4%; Plus 2%
Daily spending limitWallet balance$10,000 Basic; $50,000 Plus; $100,000 Prestige
ATM withdrawal limitNot disclosed$250 per transaction; up to 3 withdrawals per 24 hours
Available inGlobalUnited States, Latin America, Asia-Pacific, Middle East, Africa
Spendable assetsUSDT, USDC, PENGU, 25+ other coinsUSDC, USDT
Top-up networks10+ supported chainsPolygon, Base, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum
Card currencies30+ currenciesUSD
Spend stablecoins Yes Yes
Apple Pay Yes Yes
Google Pay Yes Yes
Good forEveryday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools, Advertising, Business expensesEveryday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools
PerksKAST Points, US account number, EU IBAN, ACH receipts, SEPA receipts, Wire transfers, KAST ReserveUSDC cashback, Airport lounge access, Insurance, Concierge
Card issuerNot disclosedRain
Virtual card feeNot disclosedFree
Company
Founded20242025
HeadquartersCayman Islands—
InvestorsLeft Lane Capital, QED Investors, Hong Shan, Peak XV Partners +1Not disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Visa acceptance at 150M+ merchants in 170+ countries
  • US account number and EU IBAN support ACH and SEPA payments
  • Supports USDT and USDC across 10+ chains
  • Standard membership has no annual fee
  • Basic plan has no monthly fee
  • Supports four stablecoin top-up networks
  • Cashback is paid in USDC
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay supported
Cons
  • Custodial account structure creates reliance on KAST and its regulated partners
  • Premium costs $1,000 yearly and Private costs $10,000 yearly
  • Reserve rates are introductory and the offer ends 1 July 2027
  • Cashback is subject to merchant-category restrictions
  • Availability varies by country and U.S. state
  • KYC is required for every cardholder
  • Basic ATM withdrawals cost 4%
  • Physical cards are not generally available yet
Best forFreelancers receiving international payments, Global workers spending stablecoins, Stablecoin-funded business expensesU.S. stablecoin spending, Mobile wallet payments, Tangem Wallet users

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

FAQ

How does custody differ between KAST and Tangem Pay?

KAST is fully custodial, meaning the platform holds deposits within its internal account structure. Tangem Pay keeps card funds in a user-controlled smart contract account linked to the Tangem Wallet ecosystem.

Which stablecoins can fund each card?

KAST accepts USDT, USDC, PENGU, and more than 25 other tokens across 10+ networks. Tangem Pay only accepts USDC and USDT deposits across Polygon, Base, BNB Smart Chain, and Arbitrum.

Do both cards offer banking details for incoming transfers?

KAST provides dedicated US account numbers and EU IBANs for inbound ACH, SEPA, and wire transfers. Tangem Pay supports bank funding via ACH for a $1 fee and FedWire for $11.

What are the cash withdrawal fees on both cards?

Tangem Pay charges a 4% fee on Basic tier ATM withdrawals, capped at $250 per transaction. KAST's daily spending limit is its wallet balance.

More comparisons