KAST vs Kraken Card: Stablecoin Rails vs 600+ Assets

KAST is a custodial stablecoin account offering virtual and physical Visa cards, alongside US account numbers and EU IBANs for wire, ACH, and SEPA transfers. In contrast, Kraken Card is a virtual Mastercard debit card linked directly to Kraken balances and managed through the Krak app.

The primary divergence lies in asset support and funding methods. KAST focuses on deposits in USDT, USDC, and over 25 other tokens across 10 chains, spending stablecoin balances directly across 170 countries. Kraken Card draws from more than 600 cryptocurrencies or cash balances, converting them at point of sale with zero Kraken transaction or exchange fees, though variable spreads apply. Card formats and reward structures also differ. KAST issues physical and virtual cards, offering up to 3% cashback in stablecoins, with paid tiers reaching $10,000 annually. Kraken Card is strictly virtual, pays up to 2% cashback in BTC or EUR based on exchange balances, and charges no annual subscription fees.

KAST3.7/5
VS

Quick verdict

The choice depends on whether the primary goal is international banking access for stablecoins or retail spending directly from an exchange portfolio. KAST functions as a cross-border money account, giving cardholders dedicated US routing numbers and European IBANs to receive payroll and wire payments. Kraken Card is a spending extension for exchange customers, converting holdings across hundreds of tokens at checkout without foreign exchange markups.

Choose KAST if you need physical card access, incoming SEPA or ACH payment details, and direct stablecoin spending across 170 countries without paying exchange conversion spreads on USD tokens.

Choose Kraken Card if you want to spend directly from an existing exchange balance across 600 cryptocurrencies, prefer earning rewards in Bitcoin or euros, and want to avoid annual subscription tiers.

Feature
Ratings
Our score3.7/53.8/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Fees2.54.5
Rewards & cashback4.04.0
Availability4.53.0
App & experience4.04.0
Trust & security3.53.5
Fees & features
Card typePrepaidDebit
Card networkVisaMastercard
Card formatVirtual, PhysicalVirtual
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYC required YesNot disclosed
Business card YesNot disclosed
Max cashback3%2%
Rewards paid inUSD stablecoinsBTC or EUR
Staking needed for top rewards No No
Welcome bonusNot disclosedNew cardholders receive Max tier for 30 days, with 2% cashback.
Card issuance feeFreeFree
Monthly feeFreeFree
Annual feeFreeFree
Foreign exchange feeNot disclosed0%
Crypto conversion spreadNot disclosedVariable spread applies when spending across assets
ATM withdrawalsNot disclosedNo ATM withdrawal fee from Kraken; third-party ATM fees may apply
Daily spending limitWallet balanceNot disclosed
Available inGlobalEurope (EEA), United Kingdom, United States
Spendable assetsUSDT, USDC, PENGU, 25+ other coins600+ cryptocurrencies, Cash
Top-up networks10+ supported chainsNot disclosed
Card currencies30+ currenciesEUR
Spend stablecoins YesNot disclosed
Apple Pay Yes Yes
Google Pay Yes Yes
Good forEveryday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools, Advertising, Business expensesEveryday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools
PerksKAST Points, US account number, EU IBAN, ACH receipts, SEPA receipts, Wire transfers, KAST ReserveUp to 2% cashback, Up to 6% travel cashback, Instant card lock, Real-time notifications
Card issuerNot disclosedUAB Monavate
Virtual card feeNot disclosedFree
Company
Founded20242011
HeadquartersCayman IslandsUnited States
InvestorsLeft Lane Capital, QED Investors, Hong Shan, Peak XV Partners +1DRW Venture Capital, Hong Shan, Jane Street, Oppenheimer Alternative Investment Management +2
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Visa acceptance at 150M+ merchants in 170+ countries
  • US account number and EU IBAN support ACH and SEPA payments
  • Supports USDT and USDC across 10+ chains
  • Standard membership has no annual fee
  • Up to 2% cashback in BTC or EUR
  • No Kraken transaction or foreign-exchange fees
  • No Kraken ATM withdrawal fees
  • Supports 600+ currencies
Cons
  • Custodial account structure creates reliance on KAST and its regulated partners
  • Premium costs $1,000 yearly and Private costs $10,000 yearly
  • Reserve rates are introductory and the offer ends 1 July 2027
  • Cashback is subject to merchant-category restrictions
  • Custodial card and account structure
  • Variable spreads may apply when converting between assets at checkout
  • Third-party ATM fees may apply
  • Availability varies by location
Best forFreelancers receiving international payments, Global workers spending stablecoins, Stablecoin-funded business expensesEveryday crypto spending, Krak app users, Cardholders spending multiple assets

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

FAQ

Does KAST or Kraken Card offer higher cashback?

KAST offers up to 3% cashback in stablecoins on its Private tier, while Kraken Card pays up to 2% in Bitcoin or euros. KAST standard accounts earn 1.5%, whereas Kraken Card tiers depend on 30-day average balances across Kraken accounts.

Can you get a physical card with both providers?

No, only KAST issues physical cards alongside virtual cards. Kraken Card is available solely as a virtual card, though it connects to Apple Pay and Google Pay for in-person retail purchases.

Which currencies can fund card purchases on each platform?

Kraken Card supports over 600 cryptocurrencies and cash balances, converting them at the point of sale. KAST accepts USDT, USDC, PENGU, and more than 25 other coins deposited across 10 supported blockchain networks.

Where are KAST and Kraken Card available?

KAST provides cards to users in more than 170 countries globally. Kraken Card is restricted to eligible account holders residing in the United States, the United Kingdom, and the European Economic Area.

More comparisons