Kraken Card vs Tangem Pay: Exchange Balances vs Stablecoins
Kraken Card is a custodial Mastercard debit card linked to Kraken exchange balances, while Tangem Pay is a Visa card embedded directly inside Tangem Wallet.
The primary difference lies in custody and asset support. Kraken Card allows users to spend from cash and more than 600 cryptocurrencies held on Kraken, converting assets at the point of sale. Tangem Pay instead relies on stablecoins, funding card balances through USDC and USDT transfers across Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, and BNB Smart Chain. Its balance sits in a smart contract account rather than a central exchange database.
Fee structures also diverge. Kraken charges zero foreign exchange fees and zero ATM fees on its side, though currency conversion spreads apply at checkout. Tangem Pay charges a 4% ATM fee on its Basic plan, plus standard on-chain network fees or a $1 ACH fee for bank deposits. Cashback reaches up to 2% in BTC or EUR on Kraken, compared to 1% to 4% in USDC on Tangem Pay.
Quick verdict
The choice comes down to custody architecture and asset selection. Kraken Card functions as an extension of an exchange balance, letting users spend hundreds of volatile crypto assets alongside fiat without paying foreign transaction fees. Tangem Pay isolates payment funds in a user-controlled smart contract, avoiding live conversion spreads by dealing strictly in stablecoins and U.S. dollar balances.
Choose Kraken Card if you keep funds on Kraken, want zero foreign exchange fees and free ATM access on the issuer side, and want to earn rewards in Bitcoin or euros while spending directly from a catalogue of more than 600 tokens.
Choose Tangem Pay if you want your payment funds held in a self-custodial smart contract, fund your card through USDC or USDT over networks like Arbitrum and Base, and do not mind paying a 4% Basic ATM fee to keep spending pegged to stablecoins.
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Ratings | ||
| Our score | 3.8/5 | 3.6/5 |
| User rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
| Fees | 4.5 | 4.0 |
| Rewards & cashback | 4.0 | 3.5 |
| Availability | 3.0 | 3.0 |
| App & experience | 4.0 | 4.0 |
| Trust & security | 3.5 | 3.5 |
| Fees & features | ||
| Card type | Debit | Debit |
| Card network | Mastercard | Visa |
| Card format | Virtual | Virtual, Physical |
| Custody | Custodial | Self-custodial |
| KYC required | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Business card | Not disclosed | No |
| Max cashback | 2% | 4% |
| Rewards paid in | BTC or EUR | USDC |
| Staking needed for top rewards | No | Not disclosed |
| Welcome bonus | New cardholders receive Max tier for 30 days, with 2% cashback. | Up to $75, coming soon |
| Card issuance fee | Free | Free |
| Monthly fee | Free | Free |
| Annual fee | Free | Free |
| Foreign exchange fee | 0% | Not disclosed |
| Top-up fee | Not disclosed | ACH $1 flat fee, free on Plus; FedWire $11 flat fee; network fees apply to crypto top-ups |
| Crypto conversion spread | Variable spread applies when spending across assets | Not disclosed |
| ATM withdrawals | No ATM withdrawal fee from Kraken; third-party ATM fees may apply | Basic 4%; Plus 2% |
| Daily spending limit | Not disclosed | $10,000 Basic; $50,000 Plus; $100,000 Prestige |
| ATM withdrawal limit | Not disclosed | $250 per transaction; up to 3 withdrawals per 24 hours |
| Available in | Europe (EEA), United Kingdom, United States | United States, Latin America, Asia-Pacific, Middle East, Africa |
| Spendable assets | 600+ cryptocurrencies, Cash | USDC, USDT |
| Top-up networks | Not disclosed | Polygon, Base, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum |
| Card currencies | EUR | USD |
| Spend stablecoins | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Apple Pay | Yes | Yes |
| Google Pay | Yes | Yes |
| Good for | Everyday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools | Everyday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools |
| Perks | Up to 2% cashback, Up to 6% travel cashback, Instant card lock, Real-time notifications | USDC cashback, Airport lounge access, Insurance, Concierge |
| Card issuer | UAB Monavate | Rain |
| Virtual card fee | Free | Free |
| Company | ||
| Founded | 2011 | 2025 |
| Headquarters | United States | — |
| Investors | DRW Venture Capital, Hong Shan, Jane Street, Oppenheimer Alternative Investment Management +2 | Not disclosed |
| Strengths and weaknesses | ||
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
| Best for | Everyday crypto spending, Krak app users, Cardholders spending multiple assets | U.S. stablecoin spending, Mobile wallet payments, Tangem Wallet users |
Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.
FAQ
Is Kraken Card custodial or self-custodial?
Kraken Card is custodial. Card balances and spendable assets sit inside the Kraken exchange infrastructure and the Krak app rather than a private wallet.
Which assets can fund Tangem Pay?
Tangem Pay supports USDC and USDT deposits on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, and BNB Smart Chain. Cardholders can also fund the account using U.S. bank transfers via ACH or FedWire.
How do ATM withdrawal fees compare between Kraken Card and Tangem Pay?
Kraken Card charges zero fees for ATM withdrawals on its end, though third-party ATM operators may apply charges. Tangem Pay charges a 4% fee on its Basic plan and 2% on its Plus plan, with a withdrawal limit of $250 per transaction.
What cashback rewards do Kraken Card and Tangem Pay offer?
Kraken Card pays up to 2% cashback in Bitcoin or euros, based on rolling 30-day balances across Kraken accounts. Tangem Pay pays cashback in USDC, offering 1% on the Basic tier and up to 4% on higher tiers.

