OKX Card vs Tangem Pay: Custody and Regional Access
OKX Card is a custodial Mastercard issued by OKX Europe Limited, allowing EEA account holders to spend USDT, USDC, and USDG directly from exchange balances. In contrast, Tangem Pay is a virtual Visa card issued by Rain and managed through the Tangem Wallet app, funding payments from a smart contract account controlled by the user.
Custody and regional availability represent the main operational differences. OKX Card serves the European Economic Area without requiring separate card top-ups, charging a 0.1% conversion spread with 0% foreign exchange fees. Tangem Pay operates in the United States, Latin America, Asia-Pacific, the Middle East, and Africa. It requires users to fund their card account with USDC or USDT across Polygon, Base, BNB Smart Chain, or Arbitrum, or via U.S. bank transfers. While OKX Card pays rewards between 2% and 10% in USDG according to VIP tiers, Tangem Pay offers 1% to 2% cashback in USDC.
Quick verdict
The primary choice between these two cards hinges on custody architecture and geographical location. OKX Card links directly to an OKX exchange account for automated spending in Europe, while Tangem Pay keeps funds inside a self-custodial smart contract account for cardholders in regions such as the United States.
Choose OKX Card if you reside in the EEA and prefer automatic spending from an OKX account without manual top-ups. It suits spenders seeking 0% foreign exchange fees and tier-based USDG cashback up to 10%.
Choose Tangem Pay if you live in the United States or other supported non-EEA markets and want self-custodial control over your assets. It works for users who want to fund payments through Arbitrum, Base, Polygon, or BNB Smart Chain while earning USDC rewards and spending via Apple Pay or Google Pay.
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Ratings | ||
| Our score | 3.7/5 | 3.6/5 |
| User rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
| Fees | 4.5 | 4.0 |
| Rewards & cashback | 4.0 | 3.5 |
| Availability | 3.0 | 3.0 |
| App & experience | 3.5 | 4.0 |
| Trust & security | 3.5 | 3.5 |
| Fees & features | ||
| Card type | Debit | Debit |
| Card network | Mastercard | Visa |
| Card format | Not disclosed | Virtual, Physical |
| Custody | Custodial | Self-custodial |
| KYC required | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Business card | Not disclosed | No |
| Max cashback | 10% | 4% |
| Rewards paid in | USDG | USDC |
| Staking needed for top rewards | No | Not disclosed |
| Welcome bonus | Not disclosed | Up to $75, coming soon |
| Card issuance fee | Not disclosed | Free |
| Monthly fee | Not disclosed | Free |
| Annual fee | Not disclosed | Free |
| Foreign exchange fee | 0% | Not disclosed |
| Top-up fee | Not disclosed | ACH $1 flat fee, free on Plus; FedWire $11 flat fee; network fees apply to crypto top-ups |
| Crypto conversion spread | 0.1% | Not disclosed |
| ATM withdrawals | Not disclosed | Basic 4%; Plus 2% |
| Daily spending limit | Not disclosed | $10,000 Basic; $50,000 Plus; $100,000 Prestige |
| ATM withdrawal limit | Not disclosed | $250 per transaction; up to 3 withdrawals per 24 hours |
| Available in | Europe (EEA) | United States, Latin America, Asia-Pacific, Middle East, Africa |
| Spendable assets | USDT, USDC, USDG | USDC, USDT |
| Top-up networks | Not disclosed | Polygon, Base, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum |
| Card currencies | Not disclosed | USD |
| Spend stablecoins | Yes | Yes |
| Apple Pay | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Google Pay | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Good for | Everyday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools | Everyday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools |
| Perks | 2% to 10% cashback on eligible purchases, No transaction fees, No foreign exchange fees | USDC cashback, Airport lounge access, Insurance, Concierge |
| Card issuer | OKX Europe Limited | Rain |
| Virtual card fee | Not disclosed | Free |
| Company | ||
| Founded | — | 2025 |
| Headquarters | Malta | — |
| Investors | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Strengths and weaknesses | ||
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
| Best for | EEA residents spending stablecoins, Mastercard in-store payments, Users already holding funds on OKX | U.S. stablecoin spending, Mobile wallet payments, Tangem Wallet users |
Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.
FAQ
Which card works in the United States?
Tangem Pay works in the United States, while OKX Card does not. OKX Card is restricted primarily to residents of the European Economic Area and selected African and South Asian markets.
How do custody models differ between OKX Card and Tangem Pay?
OKX Card is fully custodial, keeping spending balances directly within an OKX Europe account. Tangem Pay operates self-custodially, placing deposited funds into a smart contract account managed by the cardholder.
What are the card fees for OKX Card and Tangem Pay?
OKX Card charges no transaction or foreign exchange fees, applying only a 0.1% conversion spread on fiat settlements. Tangem Pay charges no monthly fee on its Basic tier, but crypto top-ups incur network fees, ACH bank transfers cost $1, and Basic ATM withdrawals cost 4%.
Which card pays higher cashback?
OKX Card offers higher potential rates, paying between 2% and 10% in USDG based on VIP tiers and Pay levels. Tangem Pay pays 1% USDC cashback on its Basic plan and 2% on its Plus plan.

