Coinbase Card vs KAST

How Coinbase Card vs KAST compare on our ratings, crypto card specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
KAST3.7/5
Feature
Ratings
Our score3.4/53.7/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Fees3.52.5
Rewards & cashback3.54.0
Availability2.54.5
App & experience4.04.0
Trust & security3.53.5
Fees & features
Card typeDebitPrepaid
Card networkVisaVisa
Card formatVirtual, PhysicalVirtual, Physical
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYC required Yes Yes
Business cardNot disclosed Yes
Max cashbackNot disclosed3%
Rewards paid inCryptoUSD stablecoins
Staking needed for top rewards No No
Card issuance feeNot disclosedFree
Monthly feeNot disclosedFree
Annual feeFreeFree
Top-up fee0 for linked bank account or paycheck depositsNot disclosed
Crypto conversion spreadA spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells, or trades cryptocurrencyNot disclosed
Daily spending limitNot disclosedWallet balance
Available inUnited StatesGlobal
Not available inHawaiiNot disclosed
Spendable assetsCryptocurrency, US dollarsUSDT, USDC, PENGU, 25+ other coins
Top-up networksNot disclosed10+ supported chains
Card currenciesUSD30+ currencies
Spend stablecoins Yes Yes
Apple PayNot disclosed Yes
Google PayNot disclosed Yes
Good forNot disclosedEveryday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools, Advertising, Business expenses
PerksVariable crypto rewards, Zero annual fee, Virtual cardKAST Points, US account number, EU IBAN, ACH receipts, SEPA receipts, Wire transfers, KAST Reserve
Card issuerPathward, N.A.Not disclosed
Company
Founded20192024
HeadquartersUnited StatesCayman Islands
InvestorsNot disclosedLeft Lane Capital, QED Investors, Hong Shan, Peak XV Partners +1
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • No annual fee or Coinbase transaction fee for spending
  • Available in every US state except Hawaii
  • Offers virtual and physical card formats
  • No staking requirement for reward eligibility
  • Visa acceptance at 150M+ merchants in 170+ countries
  • US account number and EU IBAN support ACH and SEPA payments
  • Supports USDT and USDC across 10+ chains
  • Standard membership has no annual fee
Cons
  • Custodial Coinbase account required for crypto spending
  • A spread applies to cryptocurrency conversions
  • Rewards are variable and paid in selected crypto assets
  • KYC information and identity documents may be required
  • Custodial account structure creates reliance on KAST and its regulated partners
  • Premium costs $1,000 yearly and Private costs $10,000 yearly
  • Reserve rates are introductory and the offer ends 1 July 2027
  • Cashback is subject to merchant-category restrictions
Best forUS crypto spenders, Everyday Visa purchases, Users earning crypto rewardsFreelancers receiving international payments, Global workers spending stablecoins, Stablecoin-funded business expenses

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons