Cake Wallet vs Wallet Labs: Privacy Tools vs 100+ Chains

Cake Wallet and Wallet Labs develop open-source, non-custodial cryptocurrency software that eliminates account registration and identity verification. Cake Wallet launched in 2018 as a Monero wallet on iOS and now runs on mobile and desktop systems, supporting 16 networks including Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Zcash. Gem Wallet by Wallet Labs launched in 2023 as a mobile-only application for iOS and Android, connecting to over 100 blockchains.

The products diverge on privacy infrastructure and chain breadth. Cake Wallet integrates native Tor routing, Bitcoin Silent Payments, and hardware signing through devices like Ledger, Trezor, and COLDCARD. It handles cross-chain transfers through third-party services and a dedicated USDT bridge across three networks. Gem Wallet concentrates on ecosystem access and decentralized trading. Its cross-chain aggregator queries 23 routing providers, charging a 0.5% fee on standard pairs, alongside native asset staking and an in-app Web3 browser.

VS

Quick verdict

The core differences involve privacy, platform support, and chain access. Cake Wallet prioritizes network-level privacy. It masks IP addresses through integrated Tor nodes and allows offline transaction signing using hardware devices or secondary mobile phones. In contrast, Gem Wallet runs exclusively on mobile devices, offering access to over 100 chains, built-in staking, and an integrated Web3 browser.

Cake Wallet fits desktop users. It runs on macOS and Linux, supports privacy assets like Monero and Zcash, and lets users route traffic through Tor. The app also works with hardware signers like Trezor and BitBox while providing coin control and Replace-by-Fee on Bitcoin.

Wallet Labs suits mobile multi-chain traders. It operates on iOS and Android devices without desktop support. Its 23-provider swap engine charges a 0.5% fee to automate routing across networks like Solana, TON, and Cosmos without external bridge portals.

Feature
Ratings
Our score4.3/54.6/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.54.5
Ease of use4.04.5
Chain support4.05.0
Features4.04.0
Privacy5.05.0
Specs
KYC required No No
Wallet typeMobile, DesktopMobile
CustodySelf-custodialSelf-custodial
ChainsBitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Arbitrum, Base, Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron, OtherEthereum, Bitcoin, Solana, BNB Chain, Arbitrum, Base, Polygon, Avalanche, Sui, Aptos, TON, Tron, Hyperliquid, Cosmos, Other
PlatformsiOS, Android, macOS, LinuxiOS, Android
Open source Yes Yes
Hardware wallet support YesNot disclosed
In-app swaps Yes Yes
StakingNot disclosed Yes
NFT supportNot disclosed Yes
Buy crypto in app Yes Yes
Security featuresPIN protection, Encrypted backups, Tor routing, Bitcoin Silent Payments, Coin control, Replace-by-FeeBiometric authentication, 12-word seed phrase backup, Apple Keychain integration, Google Tink encryption
Recovery without a seed phrase No No
Built-in dApp browser No Yes
Swap feeNot disclosed0.5%
Perpetuals trading NoNot disclosed
Company
Founded20182023
Headquarters—United Arab Emirates
InvestorsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Fully open source under the MIT license
  • Self-custodial design requires no user account creation or identity verification
  • Built-in Tor routing conceals IP addresses when broadcasting transactions
  • Integrates hardware signing devices alongside an air-gapped phone signing option
  • Fully open-source mobile application audited by CertiK in April 2026
  • Requires no account creation, email address, or identity verification
  • Supports over 100 distinct blockchains within a single interface
  • Integrated DEX aggregator compares routes across 23 swap providers
Cons
  • Native in-app bridging is restricted to USDT across Ethereum, Polygon, and Arbitrum
  • In-app exchange rates and fiat purchases carry external third-party provider fees
  • Fee customization and bumping tools are unavailable on Solana, Tron, and Arbitrum
  • Requires users to manage seed phrase backups without automated social recovery
  • No desktop client or web browser extension available
  • Swaps carry a 0.5% fee in addition to standard network costs
  • No social recovery alternative for the seed phrase
Best forMonero and privacy-focused asset holders, Users routing transactions through Tor, Mobile users pairing hardware walletsMobile multichain crypto management, Privacy-focused self-custody, Direct cross-chain swaps without exchanges

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

FAQ

Which wallet supports more blockchains?

Gem Wallet by Wallet Labs supports over 100 blockchains, including TON, XRP Ledger, Solana, and Cosmos. Cake Wallet supports 16 networks, focusing on Bitcoin, Monero, Litecoin, and EVM chains.

Can you use Cake Wallet and Wallet Labs on a computer?

Cake Wallet provides desktop versions for macOS and Linux in addition to mobile apps. Wallet Labs offers Gem Wallet exclusively on iOS and Android without desktop or browser extension options.

How do swap fees compare between Cake Wallet and Wallet Labs?

Wallet Labs charges a 0.5% fee on standard trades through its built-in DEX aggregator, dropping to 0.25% on stablecoins. Cake Wallet does not impose an added platform swap fee on its USDT0 bridge, but standard trades rely on third-party swap services that set their own exchange rates.

Does either wallet support hardware signers?

Cake Wallet connects directly to hardware devices from Ledger, Trezor, BitBox, and COLDCARD, and supports air-gapped phone signing through Cupcake. Gem Wallet operates strictly with local device encryption and does not connect to external hardware signers.

More comparisons