Klever Wallet vs Wallet Labs: Open Source Code vs Desktop Support

Klever Wallet is a self-custodial cryptocurrency wallet launched in 2020 by Lisbon-based Klever.io. It supports over 10,000 tokens across 40 blockchains on iOS, Android, and Google Chrome. Wallet Labs develops Gem Wallet, an open-source self-custodial app launched in 2023 in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, with support for more than 100 networks.

Platform availability and code openness form the primary divide between them. Klever Wallet operates on desktop through its Chrome browser extension and links directly to the KleverSafe hardware device for offline key storage. Wallet Labs restricts its software to iOS and Android devices, relying on Apple Keychain and Google Tink. Wallet Labs publishes its source code and completed a CertiK security audit in 2026. Swapping also differs: Wallet Labs levies a transparent 0.5% fee across 23 decentralized exchange aggregators, whereas Klever Wallet charges variable facilitation fees that decrease if users hold its native KLV token.

VS

Quick verdict

The decision centers on whether desktop integration and cold storage matter more than open-source code and extensive network coverage. Klever Wallet supports 40 blockchains and pairs with the KleverSafe hardware device for desktop extension users. Wallet Labs works across more than 100 networks, runs open-source software audited by CertiK, and routes swaps through 23 bridge and DEX providers on mobile devices.

Choose Klever Wallet if you need a Chrome browser extension for decentralized applications, plan to store private keys offline on a KleverSafe hardware wallet, or hold KLV tokens to reduce in-app swap facilitation fees.

Choose Wallet Labs if you prefer an open-source mobile wallet audited by CertiK, need native support for over 100 blockchains, and want 0.5% standard swap fees and 0.25% stablecoin swap fees.

Feature
Ratings
Our score4.0/54.6/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security3.54.5
Ease of use4.54.5
Chain support4.55.0
Features4.04.0
Privacy4.05.0
Specs
KYC required No No
Wallet typeMobile, Browser extensionMobile
CustodySelf-custodialSelf-custodial
ChainsEthereum, Bitcoin, Solana, BNB Chain, Polygon, Tron, OtherEthereum, Bitcoin, Solana, BNB Chain, Arbitrum, Base, Polygon, Avalanche, Sui, Aptos, TON, Tron, Hyperliquid, Cosmos, Other
PlatformsiOS, Android, ChromeiOS, Android
Open sourceNot disclosed Yes
Hardware wallet support YesNot disclosed
In-app swaps Yes Yes
Staking Yes Yes
NFT support Yes Yes
Buy crypto in app Yes Yes
Security featuresNot disclosedBiometric authentication, 12-word seed phrase backup, Apple Keychain integration, Google Tink encryption
Recovery without a seed phraseNot disclosed No
Built-in dApp browser Yes Yes
Swap feeNot disclosed0.5%
Company
Founded20202023
HeadquartersPortugalUnited Arab Emirates
InvestorsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Non-custodial architecture giving users full control of private keys
  • Supports over 10,000 tokens and NFTs across 40 blockchains
  • No registration or KYC required for holding or swapping tokens
  • Hardware wallet support through KleverSafe integration
  • Fully open-source mobile application audited by CertiK in April 2026
  • Requires no account creation, email address, or identity verification
  • Supports over 100 distinct blockchains within a single interface
  • Integrated DEX aggregator compares routes across 23 swap providers
Cons
  • Swap discounts require holding the proprietary KLV token
  • Fiat purchases require external partner KYC verification
  • Built-in swaps incur variable facilitation fees in addition to network fees
  • No desktop client or web browser extension available
  • Swaps carry a 0.5% fee in addition to standard network costs
  • No social recovery alternative for the seed phrase
Best forMultichain mobile crypto holders, Users staking proof-of-stake assets, Traders wanting non-KYC swapsMobile multichain crypto management, Privacy-focused self-custody, Direct cross-chain swaps without exchanges

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

FAQ

Is Wallet Labs more open than Klever Wallet?

Yes, Wallet Labs publishes Gem Wallet as open-source software, whereas Klever Wallet keeps its codebase closed. Gem Wallet completed an external security audit through CertiK in 2026.

Does Klever Wallet support more blockchains than Wallet Labs?

No, Wallet Labs supports over 100 blockchains, while Klever Wallet supports 40 networks. Both handle major chains like Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, and TRON, but Wallet Labs includes additional networks such as TON, Aptos, and Sui.

Can you use Klever Wallet on a desktop computer?

Yes, Klever Wallet provides a Chrome browser extension alongside its mobile apps. Wallet Labs offers only mobile apps for iOS and Android.

How do swap fees compare between Klever Wallet and Wallet Labs?

Wallet Labs charges a 0.5% fee on standard swaps and 0.25% on stablecoins across 23 routing providers. Klever Wallet applies variable facilitation fees on its swaps, though users can lower these costs by holding its native KLV token.

Which wallet supports hardware storage?

Klever Wallet integrates with the KleverSafe hardware wallet for cold storage. Wallet Labs stores keys on mobile devices using Apple Keychain or Google Tink.

More comparisons