OneKey vs Tangem: Screen and Code vs NFC Cards
OneKey and Tangem differ fundamentally. OneKey builds screen-equipped devices starting at $79 for the battery-free Classic 1S Pure and $99 for the Classic 1S. It runs open-source firmware audited by SlowMist and supports over 30,000 assets across 100+ chains. Connectivity relies on USB-C or Bluetooth. Transactions appear on an OLED display.
Tangem takes another approach. It relies on credit-card-sized NFC hardware without a screen, buttons, or cables. Private keys generate inside an EAL6+ Samsung chip, and signing requires tapping the card against a phone. The system supports 14,100+ assets across 90+ blockchains, with audits from Kudelski Security, Riscure, and Cure53. Because Tangem cards have no display, users verify transaction details on a phone rather than on the signing hardware itself.
Quick verdict
The core difference comes down to transaction verification and firmware transparency. OneKey provides an on-device screen for independent verification and publishes fully open-source firmware. Tangem eliminates charging cords and recovery seeds entirely by using linked backup cards, but it forces users to trust the phone screen because the hardware card has no display.
Choose OneKey if you want fully open-source firmware, clear on-device transaction verification, or a Bitcoin-only edition. It also suits anyone needing to connect directly to desktop browsers via USB-C or Bluetooth while managing assets across more than 100 chains.
Choose Tangem if you prefer a compact, waterproof card form factor that requires zero charging. It works well for mobile users who want seedless security backed by two or three physical cards and direct NFC taps.
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Ratings | ||
| Our score | 4.1/5 | 4.3/5 |
| User rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
| Security | 4.5 | 4.5 |
| Build & design | 4.0 | 4.5 |
| Ease of use | 3.5 | 4.5 |
| Coin support | 4.5 | 4.5 |
| Value for money | 4.0 | 3.5 |
| Specs | ||
| KYC required | No | Not disclosed |
| Price from | $79 | Not disclosed |
| Connectivity | USB-C, Bluetooth | NFC |
| Secure element | Yes | Yes |
| Firmware | Fully open source | Partially open source |
| Display | Screen + buttons | No screen |
| Air-gapped signing | Yes | No |
| Bitcoin-only | No | No |
| Supported assets | 30,000 | 14,100 |
| Battery | Not disclosed | No |
| BIP39 passphrase | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Companion app | OneKey app | Tangem app |
| Touchscreen | Not disclosed | No |
| Backup options | Not disclosed | Two-card backup, Three-card backup, Optional recovery phrase |
| NFC | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Company | ||
| Founded | 2019 | 2017 |
| Headquarters | Hong Kong | Switzerland |
| Investors | YZi Labs | Shima Capital, SBI Digital Asset Holdings |
| Strengths and weaknesses | ||
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
| Best for | Long-term multi-chain self-custody, Open-source firmware users, Bitcoin-only cold storage | Long-term self-custody, Seedless wallet backups, NFC phone users |
Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.
FAQ
Which device has a physical screen?
OneKey Classic 1S models have an OLED screen and physical buttons for transaction details. Tangem cards have no display, so transaction verification happens entirely in the mobile app.
How do OneKey and Tangem handle backups?
OneKey relies on standard recovery seed phrases with optional KeyTag storage. Tangem defaults to a seedless setup where two or three linked NFC cards share the same key as hardware backups, though an optional recovery phrase is also available.
Which wallet supports more cryptocurrencies?
OneKey supports more assets, covering over 30,000 coins and tokens across 100+ blockchains. Tangem covers over 14,100 assets across 90+ blockchains.
Is OneKey firmware open source?
Yes, OneKey provides fully open-source firmware and applications with reproducible builds audited by SlowMist. Tangem uses partially open-source software with factory-installed firmware that cannot be updated.

