Kraken Card vs Uphold Debit Card

How Kraken Card vs Uphold Debit Card compare on our ratings, crypto card specs, funding, pros and cons.

Feature
Ratings
Our score3.8/53.4/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Fees4.53.5
Rewards & cashback4.04.0
Availability3.02.5
App & experience4.03.5
Trust & security3.53.5
Fees & features
Card typeDebitDebit
Card networkMastercardVisa
Card formatVirtualVirtual, Physical, Metal
CustodyCustodialCustodial
Max cashback2%4%
Rewards paid inBTC or EURXRP
Staking needed for top rewards NoNot disclosed
Welcome bonusNew cardholders receive Max tier for 30 days, with 2% cashback.Not disclosed
Card issuance feeFreeNot disclosed
Monthly feeFreeNot disclosed
Annual feeFreeNot disclosed
Foreign exchange fee0%Not disclosed
Crypto conversion spreadVariable spread applies when spending across assetsNot disclosed
ATM withdrawalsNo ATM withdrawal fee from Kraken; third-party ATM fees may applyNot disclosed
Available inEurope (EEA), United Kingdom, United StatesUnited States
Not available inNot disclosedLouisiana, New York, US territories
Spendable assets600+ cryptocurrencies, Cash300+ digital assets, BTC, ETH, XRP, USDC, USDT, Gold, Silver
Card currenciesEURUSD
Spend stablecoinsNot disclosed Yes
Apple Pay Yes Yes
Google Pay Yes Yes
Good forEveryday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI toolsEveryday spending, Travel, Online shopping
PerksUp to 2% cashback, Up to 6% travel cashback, Instant card lock, Real-time notificationsUp to 4% XRP rewards, Up to 3% APY on stablecoin balances, Apple Pay, Google Pay
Card issuerUAB MonavateCross River Bank
Virtual card feeFreeFree
Company
Founded20112014
HeadquartersUnited StatesUnited States
InvestorsDRW Venture Capital, Hong Shan, Jane Street, Oppenheimer Alternative Investment Management +2Not disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Up to 2% cashback in BTC or EUR
  • No Kraken transaction or foreign-exchange fees
  • No Kraken ATM withdrawal fees
  • Supports 600+ currencies
  • Spends from more than 300 digital assets
  • Supports spending from Gold and Silver balances
  • Elite plan has 0% foreign transaction fees
  • Elite ATM withdrawals cost $0
Cons
  • Custodial card and account structure
  • Variable spreads may apply when converting between assets at checkout
  • Third-party ATM fees may apply
  • Availability varies by location
  • Custodial wallet creates Uphold and banking-partner exposure
  • US card excludes Louisiana, New York and US territories
  • Elite plan costs $99.99 annually
  • Rewards are paid in volatile XRP
Best forEveryday crypto spending, Krak app users, Cardholders spending multiple assetsUS residents spending crypto, Stablecoin-funded everyday purchases, Gold and Silver spending

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons