Kraken Card vs MetaMask Card
How Kraken Card vs MetaMask Card compare on our ratings, crypto card specs, funding, pros and cons.
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Ratings | ||
| Our score | 3.8/5 | 3.6/5 |
| User rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
| Fees | 4.5 | 3.5 |
| Rewards & cashback | 4.0 | 4.0 |
| Availability | 3.0 | 3.0 |
| App & experience | 4.0 | 4.0 |
| Trust & security | 3.5 | 3.5 |
| Fees & features | ||
| Card type | Debit | Debit |
| Card network | Mastercard | Mastercard |
| Card format | Virtual | Virtual, Physical, Metal |
| Custody | Custodial | Self-custodial |
| Max cashback | 2% | 3% |
| Rewards paid in | BTC or EUR | mUSD |
| Staking needed for top rewards | No | Not disclosed |
| Welcome bonus | New cardholders receive Max tier for 30 days, with 2% cashback. | Not disclosed |
| Card issuance fee | Free | Not disclosed |
| Monthly fee | Free | Not disclosed |
| Annual fee | Free | $199 |
| Foreign exchange fee | 0% | 0% |
| Top-up fee | Not disclosed | On-chain gas applies to every top-up and spend, typically around $0.01 |
| Crypto conversion spread | Variable spread applies when spending across assets | Not disclosed |
| ATM withdrawals | No ATM withdrawal fee from Kraken; third-party ATM fees may apply | Free up to $1,200/month for Metal |
| Daily spending limit | Not disclosed | $15,000 Virtual; $30,000 Metal |
| ATM withdrawal limit | Not disclosed | $1,000/day Virtual; $5,000/day Metal |
| Available in | Europe (EEA), United Kingdom, United States | United States |
| Spendable assets | 600+ cryptocurrencies, Cash | mUSD, USDC, USDT, wETH, EURe, GBPe, aUSDC, amUSD, aBasUSDC |
| Top-up networks | Not disclosed | Linea, Solana, Base, Monad |
| Card currencies | EUR | Not disclosed |
| Spend stablecoins | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Apple Pay | Yes | Yes |
| Google Pay | Yes | Yes |
| Good for | Everyday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools | Everyday spending, Travel, Online shopping |
| Perks | Up to 2% cashback, Up to 6% travel cashback, Instant card lock, Real-time notifications | mUSD cashback, Cashback on Linea, Boosted yield on Aave, Hotel discounts, Blackbird benefits |
| Card issuer | UAB Monavate | Cross River Bank |
| Virtual card fee | Free | Free |
| Company | ||
| Founded | 2011 | 2024 |
| Headquarters | United States | — |
| Investors | DRW Venture Capital, Hong Shan, Jane Street, Oppenheimer Alternative Investment Management +2 | Not disclosed |
| Strengths and weaknesses | ||
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
| Best for | Everyday crypto spending, Krak app users, Cardholders spending multiple assets | Self-custodial crypto spending, US stablecoin payments, Apple Pay crypto users |
Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

