Bitkey vs Tangem

How Bitkey vs Tangem compare on our ratings, hardware wallet specs, funding, pros and cons.

Bitkey3.2/5
VS
Tangem4.3/5
Feature
Ratings
Our score3.2/54.3/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.04.5
Build & design3.04.5
Ease of use3.54.5
Coin support2.04.5
Value for money3.03.5
Specs
ConnectivityNot disclosedNFC
Secure elementNot disclosed Yes
FirmwareNot disclosedPartially open source
DisplayTouchscreenNo screen
Air-gapped signingNot disclosed No
Bitcoin-only Yes No
Supported assets114,100
BatteryNot disclosed No
BIP39 passphraseNot disclosed Yes
Multisig support YesNot disclosed
Companion appBitkey AppTangem app
Touchscreen Yes No
Backup optionsBuilt-in recovery, InheritanceTwo-card backup, Three-card backup, Optional recovery phrase
NFCNot disclosed Yes
Company
Founded20232017
Headquarters—Switzerland
InvestorsNot disclosedShima Capital, SBI Digital Asset Holdings
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • 2-of-3 multisig avoids reliance on one signing key
  • Bitcoin-only design keeps supported assets focused
  • Bitkey with Screen verifies transactions on the device
  • Recovery system includes a third key and inheritance tools
  • EAL6+ secure element from Samsung Semiconductors
  • Battery-free card design removes charging and cable failure points
  • Three-card sets provide two physical backups
  • Supports 14,100+ assets across 90+ blockchains
Cons
  • Server-held key creates reliance on Block's recovery infrastructure
  • Supports Bitcoin only, excluding other coins and tokens
  • August 2026 security fixes covered recovery and notification features
  • Closed, factory-installed firmware cannot be updated
  • No screen for independently checking transaction details
  • Losing every linked card can remove wallet access
  • App services add provider and smart-contract exposure
Best forLong-term Bitcoin self-custody, Bitcoin-only holders, Multisig recovery planningLong-term self-custody, Seedless wallet backups, NFC phone users

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons