Kraken Card vs Plasma One

How Kraken Card vs Plasma One compare on our ratings, crypto card specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
Feature
Ratings
Our score3.8/53.4/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Fees4.53.0
Rewards & cashback4.04.0
Availability3.03.5
App & experience4.03.0
Trust & security3.53.5
Fees & features
Card typeDebitDebit
Card networkMastercardVisa
Card formatVirtualVirtual
CustodyCustodialSelf-custodial
Max cashback2%4%
Rewards paid inBTC or EURXPL
Staking needed for top rewards No Yes
Welcome bonusNew cardholders receive Max tier for 30 days, with 2% cashback.Not disclosed
Card issuance feeFreeFree
Monthly feeFreeNot disclosed
Annual feeFree$199
Foreign exchange fee0%Not disclosed
Crypto conversion spreadVariable spread applies when spending across assetsNot disclosed
ATM withdrawalsNo ATM withdrawal fee from Kraken; third-party ATM fees may applyNot disclosed
Available inEurope (EEA), United Kingdom, United StatesGlobal
Spendable assets600+ cryptocurrencies, CashStablecoins
Top-up networksNot disclosedPlasma
Card currenciesEURUSD
Spend stablecoinsNot disclosed Yes
Apple Pay YesNot disclosed
Google Pay YesNot disclosed
Good forEveryday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI toolsEveryday spending, Travel, Online shopping, Subscriptions & AI tools
PerksUp to 2% cashback, Up to 6% travel cashback, Instant card lock, Real-time notificationsAI subscriptions, Flight cashback, Priority support, VIP support
Card issuerUAB MonavateRain
Virtual card feeFreeFree
Referral programNot disclosed Yes
Company
Founded2011—
HeadquartersUnited StatesUnited Kingdom
InvestorsDRW Venture Capital, Hong Shan, Jane Street, Oppenheimer Alternative Investment Management +2Founders Fund
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Up to 2% cashback in BTC or EUR
  • No Kraken transaction or foreign-exchange fees
  • No Kraken ATM withdrawal fees
  • Supports 600+ currencies
  • Self-custody model keeps the card-backing balance with the user
  • Rain is a Visa Principal Member and issues the card
  • Stablecoin transfers cost $0
  • Lite has a $0 card cost and 2% base cashback
Cons
  • Custodial card and account structure
  • Variable spreads may apply when converting between assets at checkout
  • Third-party ATM fees may apply
  • Availability varies by location
  • Cashback is paid in XPL, exposing rewards to token-price changes
  • Core requires $199 yearly or locking 20,000 XPL for 12 months
  • Platinum requires locking 100,000 XPL for 12 months
  • Card use depends on Rain, Bridge and Visa
Best forEveryday crypto spending, Krak app users, Cardholders spending multiple assetsStablecoin everyday spending, AI subscription payments, Platinum travel spending

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons