Coinrule vs Gunbot: Cloud No-Code vs Self-Hosted Bot
Coinrule is a cloud-based automated trading platform founded in 2018 that executes rule-based strategies across crypto exchanges, decentralized networks, and equity brokerages. Gunbot is self-hosted trading software launched in 2016 by Gunthar de Niro S.L.R. that runs locally on Windows, macOS, and Linux hardware.
The primary division lies in infrastructure and pricing structure. Coinrule manages strategy execution on cloud servers, charging monthly subscriptions from $29.99 to $749 alongside a free tier capped at $3,000 in monthly volume. In contrast, Gunbot requires self-hosting and sells lifetime licenses priced between $199 and $599 with no ongoing software subscription fees. While Coinrule connects API keys and webhooks through a visual no-code builder or mobile apps, Gunbot stores encrypted API credentials locally on user machines and enables custom strategy coding in JavaScript. Furthermore, Coinrule is unavailable to traders located in the European Union and European Economic Area due to MiCA regulations, whereas Gunbot runs independently on personal machines across both centralized venues and decentralized platforms like dYdX.
Quick verdict
The deciding factor comes down to operational overhead versus hosting control. Coinrule eliminates server setup by executing strategies on cloud servers through a browser or mobile app, but it charges recurring monthly fees and excludes European Union residents. Gunbot demands hardware setup and ongoing system maintenance, yet it preserves local custody of API credentials and eliminates recurring software subscriptions through a one-time purchase.
Choose Coinrule if you want a no-code visual builder with mobile access, live outside the European Union, and prefer cloud infrastructure that connects directly to TradingView webhooks, stock brokers, and over 350 pre-built strategy templates without managing a local server.
Choose Gunbot if you prefer storing encrypted API keys directly on your own hardware, want to avoid recurring monthly software fees through a one-time lifetime license starting at $199, and have the technical background to script custom logic in JavaScript or manage local application uptime.
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Ratings | ||
| Our score | 4.0/5 | 4.1/5 |
| User rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
| Strategies | 4.5 | 4.5 |
| Pricing | 3.5 | 4.5 |
| Security | 4.0 | 4.5 |
| Ease of use | 4.5 | 3.0 |
| Support | 3.5 | 4.0 |
| Specs | ||
| KYC required | No | Not disclosed |
| Strategies | Grid, DCA, Signal / copy trading, Smart trade | Grid, DCA, Terminal |
| Exchanges supported | 25 | 25 |
| Custody | Non-custodial (API keys) | Non-custodial (API keys) |
| Free plan | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Paid plans from (per month) | $29.99 | Not disclosed |
| Backtesting | Yes | Yes |
| Paper trading | Yes | Not disclosed |
| On-chain (DEX) trading | Yes | Yes |
| Mobile app | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Supported chains | Arbitrum, Base, BNB Chain, Ethereum, Hyperliquid | Not disclosed |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android | Web, Desktop |
| Fee per trade | 0% | Not disclosed |
| Perpetual futures | Yes | Yes |
| Limit orders | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Copy trading / wallet tracking | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Prediction markets | No | Not disclosed |
| Built-in yield | No | Not disclosed |
| Company | ||
| Founded | 2018 | 2016 |
| Headquarters | United Kingdom | — |
| Investors | Y Combinator | Not disclosed |
| Strengths and weaknesses | ||
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
| Best for | Beginner algorithmic traders wanting no-code setups, Cross-market crypto and equity investors, Traders using TradingView alerts and Pine Script | Traders requiring local API custody, Developers writing custom JavaScript algorithms, Users avoiding recurring software subscriptions |
Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.
FAQ
Is Coinrule cheaper than Gunbot?
Gunbot is cheaper over the long term because it sells lifetime licenses starting at $199, whereas Coinrule requires ongoing monthly subscriptions ranging from $29.99 to $749. Coinrule does provide a free plan, but it limits monthly trading volume to $3,000.
Where do Coinrule and Gunbot store API keys?
Coinrule stores API permissions on its cloud platform, while Gunbot keeps API keys and secrets encrypted on your local hardware or personal server. Neither platform requires withdrawal permissions for exchange accounts.
Can traders in the European Union use Coinrule or Gunbot?
Gunbot is available to European traders because it runs locally on personal machines, whereas Coinrule does not serve customers in the EU or EEA due to MiCA regulations.
Which platform supports decentralized exchange trading?
Both platforms support decentralized venues. Coinrule connects to on-chain networks such as Arbitrum, Base, and Hyperliquid via session keys, while Gunbot interfaces directly with decentralized protocols including dYdX and Hyperliquid.

