Bitsgap vs Gunbot: Cloud terminal or self-hosted bot

Bitsgap is a cloud trading terminal and automated bot platform launched in 2017. It connects spot and perpetual futures strategies across 18 exchanges, with GRID, DCA, combo bots, backtesting, paper trading, and iOS and Android apps. Gunbot is a self-hosted trading bot released in 2016. It runs on desktop operating systems like Windows and Linux, connecting to 25+ centralized and decentralized exchanges.

The main split is custody of the operating environment. Bitsgap stores no user funds and uses API keys with withdrawal permissions rejected, while Gunbot keeps encrypted keys on the user's hardware or virtual private server. Pricing also differs: Bitsgap plans start at $23 per month after a 7-day trial, while Gunbot licenses range from $199 to $599 as one-time purchases. Bitsgap charges no direct trading fee; Gunbot adds custom JavaScript scripting and local control.

Bitsgap4.2/5
VS
Gunbot4.1/5

Quick verdict

The deciding difference is where the bot runs. Bitsgap provides a managed cloud terminal, so traders can monitor bots and route orders from one interface without maintaining the execution machine. Gunbot puts the software, encrypted API keys, and uptime responsibility on the user's hardware or virtual private server. Both are non-custodial and connect to centralized and decentralized venues, but their control models differ sharply. Bitsgap has a reported zero API-breach record since 2017, while Gunbot has maintained operations since 2016.

Choose Bitsgap if a UAE-based operator under Dubai Silicon Oasis license nr. 59990 fits the required regional relationship, a cloud terminal is preferred, and mobile access, paper trading, or a 7-day trial matters. Its plans start at $23 monthly, and Bitsgap charges no direct trading fee on top of exchange commissions. It supports 18 exchanges and futures bot leverage up to 10x.

Choose Gunbot if local API-key storage or one-time pricing takes priority. Its $199 to $599 lifetime licenses avoid monthly software subscriptions, while support for 25+ exchanges and local execution comes with hardware maintenance and a steeper setup.

Feature
Ratings
Our score4.2/54.1/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Strategies4.54.5
Pricing4.04.5
Security4.54.5
Ease of use4.03.0
Support4.04.0
Specs
KYC required NoNot disclosed
StrategiesGrid, DCA, TerminalGrid, DCA, Terminal
Exchanges supported1825
CustodyNon-custodial (API keys)Non-custodial (API keys)
Free plan NoNot disclosed
Paid plans from (per month)$23Not disclosed
Backtesting Yes Yes
Paper trading YesNot disclosed
On-chain (DEX) trading Yes Yes
Mobile app YesNot disclosed
PlatformsWeb, iOS, AndroidWeb, Desktop
Fee per trade0%Not disclosed
Perpetual futures Yes Yes
Max leverage (x)10Not disclosed
Limit orders YesNot disclosed
Prediction markets NoNot disclosed
Built-in yield NoNot disclosed
Company
Founded20172016
HeadquartersUnited Arab Emirates—
InvestorsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Connects 18 exchanges without taking custody or withdrawal rights over user funds
  • No trading fees charged by Bitsgap on top of standard exchange commissions
  • Clean security track record with zero API breaches reported since 2017
  • Paper trading simulator allows zero-risk strategy testing with live order book data
  • API keys and secrets remain encrypted on user-owned hardware
  • One-time lifetime licenses available from $199 without monthly software subscriptions
  • Continuous operational track record dating back to 2016
  • Supports both centralized exchanges and decentralized platforms like dYdX
Cons
  • No free operational tier after the 7-day trial period expires
  • Monthly subscriptions start at $23, creating fixed overhead for small balances
  • Leveraged perpetuals bots expose traders to liquidation risk during market flash crashes
  • Trading execution remains dependent on connected exchange API stability and speed
  • Steep learning curve and complex setup noted by independent reviewers
  • Users must manage local hardware uptime and connection reliability
  • Top-tier features like DeFi exchange integrations require higher-priced license tiers
  • Dated interface compared to modern cloud-hosted trading terminals
Best forMulti-exchange crypto day traders, Systematic grid and DCA bot operators, Traders managing perpetuals via APITraders requiring local API custody, Developers writing custom JavaScript algorithms, Users avoiding recurring software subscriptions

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

FAQ

Is Bitsgap cheaper than Gunbot?

Bitsgap has the lower starting price, while Gunbot can cost less over a longer period. Bitsgap starts at $23 per month after a 7-day trial, and Gunbot lifetime licenses range from $199 to $599.

Which supports more exchanges, Bitsgap or Gunbot?

Gunbot supports more exchanges, with 25+ compared with Bitsgap's 18. Both connect to centralized and decentralized venues.

Which one keeps crypto API keys locally?

Gunbot keeps encrypted API keys and secrets on the user's local hardware or virtual private server. Bitsgap uses API keys in its cloud terminal and rejects withdrawal permissions.

Can both Bitsgap and Gunbot trade perpetual futures?

Both support perpetual futures trading. Bitsgap offers futures combo bots with configurable leverage up to 10x, while Gunbot also supports perpetual futures.

Which one has mobile apps?

Bitsgap has dedicated iOS and Android apps. Gunbot runs on Windows, macOS, and Linux, with web-based monitoring available through its dashboard or self-hosted interface.

More comparisons