Bullish vs OKX: Institutional Focus vs Retail Breadth
Bullish and OKX both provide spot, perpetual futures, and options trading under European regulatory oversight. Bullish is an institution-focused centralized exchange operated by a publicly traded entity on the New York Stock Exchange. Its architecture integrates a central limit order book with automated market maker liquidity pools and delivers unified portfolio margining. OKX operates regional subsidiaries, including a Malta-authorized unit under the Markets in Crypto-Assets regulation, alongside an integrated Web3 self-custody wallet.
Bullish supports United States customers under local licensing and charges a 0 bps maker fee on FX Markets with a 2.5 bps taker fee. OKX operates through region-specific entities. Its European retail catalogue features over 270 coins, peer-to-peer trading routes, automated trading bots, and Onchain Earn staking.
Quick verdict
Bullish targets institutional traders with corporate sub-accounts, stated 1:1 reserves and portfolio margining across derivatives books, while OKX provides retail spot markets, P2P rails, automated trading bots and yield generation via Onchain Earn.
Choose Bullish if you require an exchange listed on the NYSE, need United States access through New York State and FinCEN registrations, or trade large volumes relying on 0 bps maker fees on FX pairs.
Choose OKX if you trade across a catalogue of over 270 coins or want retail-oriented services such as automated strategy bots, native crypto staking through Onchain Earn, and local peer-to-peer settlement channels.
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Ratings | ||
| Our score | 3.7/5 | 3.8/5 |
| User rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
| Fees | 4.5 | 3.5 |
| Security & trust | 4.5 | 4.0 |
| Asset selection | 3.0 | 4.5 |
| Ease of use | 3.0 | 3.5 |
| Support | 3.0 | 3.5 |
| Specs | ||
| Markets | Spot, Futures, Options | Spot, Futures, Options, P2P |
| Maker fee | 0% | Not disclosed |
| Taker fee | 0.03% | Not disclosed |
| Coins listed | Not disclosed | 270 |
| Fiat deposit methods | Not disclosed | SEPA |
| KYC required | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Accepts US customers | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Proof of reserves | Yes | Yes |
| Staking / earn | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Mobile app | Yes | Yes |
| Licenses & registrations | New York State Department of Financial Services, FinCEN Money Services Business registration, BaFin MiCAR license ID 10162355, Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission CE No BUQ956, Gibraltar Financial Services Commission GFSC 119714 | MiCA crypto-asset service provider licence, Malta |
| Security features | Full-reserve 1:1 customer assets, Segregated customer assets, Daily reconciliations, Offline private-key isolation, Transaction authorization controls, Deloitte audit | Proof of reserves, 1:1 reserves |
| Futures & perpetuals | Yes | Yes |
| P2P market | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Earn / savings products | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Referral program | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Company | ||
| Founded | 2021 | 2017 |
| Headquarters | Gibraltar | Seychelles |
| Investors | Public investors, Alan Howard, Christian Angermayer, Louis Bacon +3 | Not disclosed |
| Strengths and weaknesses | ||
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
| Best for | Institutional spot traders, Professional derivatives traders, API-connected trading firms | European multi-market traders, Users seeking staking products, Algorithmic trading users |
Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.
FAQ
Which exchange accepts United States customers?
Bullish accepts United States clients and holds registrations with FinCEN and the New York State Department of Financial Services. OKX operates through region-specific entities.
How do trading fees compare between Bullish and OKX?
Bullish charges 0 bps for makers and 2.5 bps for takers on its FX Markets. OKX states that Convert has 0 trading fees, while other trading and withdrawal costs vary.
What regulatory licenses do Bullish and OKX hold in Europe?
Bullish holds a BaFin MiCAR license in Germany and authorization from the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission. OKX operates its European platform through OKX Europe Limited under a MiCA license from the Malta Financial Services Authority.
Which platform offers more cryptocurrencies?
OKX lists over 270 coins on its European platform alongside staking and P2P markets. Bullish's asset availability varies by location.

