Bitvavo vs Bullish: Retail Euro vs Institutional Trading
Bitvavo is an Amsterdam-based retail exchange tailored for European Economic Area users, offering spot trading across 453 digital assets alongside staking, recurring buys and euro bank deposits. Bullish, operated by NYSE-listed Bullish Global, targets institutional and professional traders with unified portfolio margining across spot, options, perpetuals and dated futures.
The primary differences center on target audience, regulatory footprint and product breadth. Bitvavo provides consumer services such as SEPA euro transfers, lending and a Web3 wallet, but restricts access to the EEA and caps margin trading at 10x without futures. Bullish serves eligible global clients, including institutional accounts in the United States, backed by audits from Deloitte and licenses spanning Germany, Hong Kong and New York. Lower baseline execution pricing is another distinction on Bullish, which features 0% maker fees on foreign exchange markets, whereas Bitvavo charges a base maker fee of 0.15% and a taker fee of 0.25% on standard spot trades.
Quick verdict
Bitvavo suits European retail accounts wanting straightforward euro banking, whereas Bullish serves institutions requiring advanced derivatives markets. Bitvavo offers direct SEPA integration, euro pairs and consumer tools for 453 tokens under Dutch MiCA supervision. In contrast, Bullish operates as a publicly traded institution with audited full-reserve custody and cross-margined perpetuals across multiple jurisdictions.
Choose Bitvavo if you reside in the European Economic Area, fund your account with euros via SEPA or cards, and want simplified spot trading alongside spot margin trading up to 10x leverage.
Choose Bullish if you manage institutional capital, trade derivatives such as options and futures alongside spot markets, and focus on execution through a unified order book backed by Deloitte audits, multi-region licensing, and low foreign exchange maker fees.
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Ratings | ||
| Our score | 4.0/5 | 3.7/5 |
| User rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
| Fees | 4.5 | 4.5 |
| Security & trust | 3.5 | 4.5 |
| Asset selection | 4.5 | 3.0 |
| Ease of use | 4.0 | 3.0 |
| Support | 3.5 | 3.0 |
| Specs | ||
| Markets | Spot, Margin | Spot, Futures, Options |
| Maker fee | 0.15% | 0% |
| Taker fee | 0.25% | 0.03% |
| Coins listed | 453 | Not disclosed |
| Fiat deposit methods | Bank transfer, Card, SEPA | Not disclosed |
| Accepts US customers | No | Yes |
| Proof of reserves | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Staking / earn | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Mobile app | Yes | Yes |
| Licenses & registrations | MiCA crypto-asset service provider authorization, Netherland, DNB registration as a digital asset service provider, Nether | New York State Department of Financial Services, FinCEN Money Services Business registration, BaFin MiCAR license ID 10162355, Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission CE No BUQ956, Gibraltar Financial Services Commission GFSC 119714 |
| Security features | Bitvavo Account Guarantee up to €100.000, Take-profit and stop-loss orders, Mobile app security features | Full-reserve 1:1 customer assets, Segregated customer assets, Daily reconciliations, Offline private-key isolation, Transaction authorization controls, Deloitte audit |
| Futures & perpetuals | No | Yes |
| Max leverage (x) | 10 | Not disclosed |
| Copy trading | No | Not disclosed |
| P2P market | No | Not disclosed |
| Earn / savings products | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Company | ||
| Founded | 2018 | 2021 |
| Headquarters | Netherlands | Gibraltar |
| Investors | Not disclosed | Public investors, Alan Howard, Christian Angermayer, Louis Bacon +3 |
| Strengths and weaknesses | ||
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
| Best for | EEA residents trading euros, Multi-asset spot traders, Recurring crypto buyers | Institutional spot traders, Professional derivatives traders, API-connected trading firms |
Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.
FAQ
Which exchange accepts US customers?
Bullish accepts eligible customers in the United States, though access to derivatives is restricted in that jurisdiction. Bitvavo does not accept US residents and limits its platform to the European Economic Area.
How do trading fees compare between Bitvavo and Bullish?
Bullish charges lower base maker fees, reaching 0% on foreign exchange markets with a 0.025% taker fee. Bitvavo applies volume-tiered fees starting at 0.15% maker and 0.25% taker on its entry-level spot tier.
Do Bitvavo and Bullish offer crypto derivatives?
Bullish provides options, perpetuals and dated futures using a unified portfolio-margin system. Bitvavo does not offer futures or perpetuals, restricting leveraged exposure to spot margin trading up to 10x on 20 assets.
Are Bitvavo and Bullish audited?
Bullish holds independent audits from Deloitte & Touche LLP and reports segregated full-reserve custody as a publicly traded company on the NYSE. Bitvavo provides custodial accounts backed by an account guarantee up to €100,000, but lacks public company audit filings.

