Kraken vs OKX: US Access, Asset Breadth and Options
Kraken is a US-headquartered centralized exchange founded in 2011 by Payward, Inc., supporting over 600 crypto pairs alongside 11,000 stocks and ETFs. OKX launched in 2017 under founder Mingxing \"Star\" Xu, is headquartered in the Seychelles, and operates through region-specific entities including OKX Europe Limited, which holds a MiCA licence and lists over 270 coins.
The primary operational divide sits in geographic reach and asset structure. Kraken admits traders across 46 US jurisdictions, holds a Wyoming SPDI bank charter, and supplies institutional FIX 4.4 API connectivity. OKX focuses on crypto-native derivatives, incorporating crypto options, peer-to-peer desks, and automated bots. While OKX publishes regular proof-of-reserves reports showing 1:1 asset backing, Kraken delivers access to conventional securities alongside spot crypto markets.
Quick verdict
The deciding difference comes down to jurisdiction and asset scope. Traders wanting a regulated platform that combines spot crypto with thousands of stocks and ETFs gravitate toward Kraken, whereas users wanting crypto options, integrated trading bots, and peer-to-peer trading settle on OKX.
Choose Kraken if you need access from the United States, trade both equities and digital assets in one venue, or require FIX 4.4 API connections. Kraken also provides a broader crypto spot selection with more than 600 pairs and holds regulatory approvals across 46 US jurisdictions, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Europe.
Choose OKX if you trade crypto options alongside perpetual futures, utilize built-in automated bot strategies, or buy and sell digital assets through peer-to-peer settlement channels. It suits traders outside the US who prefer frequent proof-of-reserves verification and want access to liquid staking across networks like Solana and Ethereum through Onchain Earn.
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Ratings | ||
| Our score | 3.7/5 | 3.8/5 |
| User rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
| Fees | 3.0 | 3.5 |
| Security & trust | 4.0 | 4.0 |
| Asset selection | 4.5 | 4.5 |
| Ease of use | 4.0 | 3.5 |
| Support | 3.0 | 3.5 |
| Specs | ||
| Markets | Spot, Futures, Margin, OTC | Spot, Futures, Options, P2P |
| Coins listed | 600 | 270 |
| Fiat deposit methods | Not disclosed | SEPA |
| KYC required | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Accepts US customers | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Proof of reserves | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Staking / earn | Yes | Yes |
| Mobile app | Yes | Yes |
| Licenses & registrations | Wyoming SPDI bank charter, SEC broker-dealer registration, SEC investment adviser registration, FinCEN MSB registration, Money Transmitter licenses in 46 US jurisdictions, Canadian Restricted Dealer registration, FINTRAC MSB registration, Bermuda Class F Digital Asset Business license, CySEC Investment Firm license, Central Bank of Ireland EMI license, Central Bank of Ireland MiCA CASP authorizations, FCA cryptoasset registration, AUSTRAC registration, ASIC registration, Japan FSA registration, VASP registrations in Spain, Ireland and Italy | MiCA crypto-asset service provider licence, Malta |
| Security features | API key permissions excluding withdrawals, HMAC-SHA512 authentication, Self-custody wallet | Proof of reserves, 1:1 reserves |
| Futures & perpetuals | Yes | Yes |
| Max leverage (x) | 10 | Not disclosed |
| P2P market | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Earn / savings products | Yes | Yes |
| Referral program | Yes | Yes |
| Company | ||
| Founded | 2011 | 2017 |
| Headquarters | United States | Seychelles |
| Investors | SBI Holdings, 2,263 individual investors, Bitcoin Opportunity Fund, Hummingbird Ventures +3 | Not disclosed |
| Strengths and weaknesses | ||
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
| Best for | Active crypto traders, Institutional trading desks, API-based trading systems | European multi-market traders, Users seeking staking products, Algorithmic trading users |
Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.
FAQ
Does OKX accept US residents?
OKX operates through region-specific entities, including a MiCA-licensed European platform. Kraken accepts US customers and holds FinCEN MSB registration and money-transmitter licenses in 46 US jurisdictions.
Which exchange lists more cryptocurrencies?
Kraken lists more assets, supporting over 600 crypto pairs compared to the 270 coins on OKX's European exchange. Kraken also supports trading for more than 11,000 traditional stocks and exchange-traded funds.
Does Kraken or OKX offer crypto options trading?
OKX offers options contracts alongside dated and perpetual futures. Kraken offers futures with leverage up to 10x in supported jurisdictions.
How do the two exchanges handle reserve verification?
OKX publishes regular proof-of-reserves reports, completing its 45th consecutive report in July 2026 with reserve ratios at 1:1. Kraken operates through regulated entities, including a Wyoming SPDI bank charter and a US broker-dealer registration.

