Binance Earn vs Xapo Bank: Exchange yield or regulated banking

Binance Earn is a custodial yield suite inside Binance, with flexible savings, locked staking, dual investment, and collateralized loans. Xapo Bank is a Gibraltar-licensed bank combining USD accounts, Bitcoin custody, and Bitcoin-backed borrowing.

The main divide is custody and account structure. Binance holds assets through a centralized exchange and is unavailable to United States residents. For fiat accounts, Xapo Bank offers USD balances with variable rates up to 4.6% APY paid daily in Bitcoin, alongside standard Bitcoin custody paying 0.25% APY. A $1,000 annual membership fee applies to members. USD deposits carry protection up to £120,000 equivalent, while Bitcoin custody is covered by Lloyd's of London rather than the Gibraltar deposit scheme.

VS

Quick verdict

The deciding difference is the type of exposure. Binance Earn gives exchange users a wider product set, including flexible savings, fixed-term staking, dual investment, and Binance Loans. Xapo Bank combines regulated banking with segregated Bitcoin custody, but its $1,000 annual membership fee and Bitcoin-denominated rewards change the cost and risk profile. Binance also has a history that includes a $4.3 billion Department of Justice regulatory settlement in 2023.

Choose Binance Earn if the account holder is outside the United States, already keeps assets on Binance, wants flexible redemption, or needs access to fixed-term staking and collateralized loans. Its proof-of-reserves system provides 1:1 backing against user exchange liabilities, but assets remain in exchange custody and locked products restrict withdrawals.

Choose Xapo Bank if Gibraltar-regulated banking, USD deposit protection up to £120,000 equivalent, and segregated Bitcoin custody matter more than the annual fee. It fits holders seeking daily Bitcoin rewards on USD balances, with rates up to 4.6% APY, or Bitcoin-backed loans up to 40% loan-to-value.

Feature
Ratings
Our score3.9/54.3/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Rates4.04.0
Security3.54.5
Transparency4.04.5
Flexibility4.54.0
Support3.54.5
Specs
KYC required Yes Yes
ProductsSavings / earn, Fixed-term deposits, Staking, Dual investmentSavings / earn, Crypto-backed loans
Highest advertised APYNot disclosed4.6%
Max loan-to-valueNot disclosed40%
Available inNot disclosedUnited Kingdom, Global
Proof of reserves YesNot disclosed
InsuranceNot disclosedGibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme covers USD deposits up to £120,000 equivalent; Lloyd's of London covers BTC custody
Licenses & registrationsNot disclosedGibraltar banking licence (GFSC)
Flexible (withdraw any time) Yes Yes
Fixed terms YesNot disclosed
Auto-compoundingNot disclosed Yes
Company
Founded20172013
HeadquartersUnited Arab EmiratesGibraltar
InvestorsPublic ICONot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Merkle-tree proof of reserves provides verifiable 1:1 asset backing
  • Flexible products permit withdrawals at any time
  • Collateralized lending offers automated margin top-ups and hourly interest
  • Licensed Gibraltar bank with deposit guarantee up to £120,000 on USD
  • USD savings earn daily interest paid directly in Bitcoin
  • Bitcoin custody balances are legally segregated from bank operating assets
  • BTC-backed loans allow liquidity up to 40% LTV without selling holdings
Cons
  • Custodial structure exposes user funds to central platform insolvency
  • Completely unavailable to United States residents
  • Full identity verification (KYC) is mandatory for all yield products
  • Fixed-term products restrict asset withdrawals until the lock-up expires
  • $1,000 annual membership fee limits value for smaller depositors
  • Bitcoin holdings are not covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme
  • The BTC Credit Fund introduces counterparty credit risk via institutional lending
  • Mandatory KYC identity verification required before account access
Best forBinance exchange traders holding idle balances, International crypto depositors seeking flexible yields, Borrowers needing collateralized loansHigh-net-worth Bitcoin holders, Savers accumulating Bitcoin yield from cash, Borrowers seeking non-taxable liquidity

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

FAQ

Is Binance Earn cheaper than Xapo Bank?

Xapo Bank charges a $1,000 annual membership fee. The two platforms also take different payout approaches, with Xapo paying USD account yield in Bitcoin while Binance Earn offers several yield structures.

Which one works in the United States?

Binance Earn is completely unavailable to United States residents. Xapo Bank lists global availability and the United Kingdom among its supported markets.

Which product has more yield options?

Binance Earn has flexible savings, fixed-term staking, dual investment, and collateralized loans. Xapo Bank focuses on USD savings paid in Bitcoin, standard Bitcoin custody yield, its BTC Credit Fund, and Bitcoin-backed loans.

Are Binance Earn and Xapo Bank custodial?

Both use custodial account models, but their structures differ. Binance holds assets through its centralized exchange, while Xapo Bank separates banking activities from digital-asset custody and legally segregates Bitcoin custody from bank operating assets.

Which one offers deposit protection?

Xapo Bank offers Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme protection for USD deposits up to £120,000 equivalent. Binance Earn provides a Merkle-tree proof-of-reserves system with 1:1 backing for customer exchange liabilities, rather than the stated deposit guarantee.

More comparisons