Abra vs Xapo Bank: SEC Adviser vs Regulated Bank

Abra is an SEC-registered investment adviser. Serving private clients, family offices, and institutions, it provides tokenized yield strategies across Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, and USD stablecoins alongside crypto-backed credit lines reaching up to 50% loan-to-value. Xapo Bank is a Gibraltar-licensed credit institution combining traditional banking rails with digital asset custody. It pays daily Bitcoin yield on fiat USD deposits up to 4.6% APY, while lending against Bitcoin at up to 40% loan-to-value.

Regulations and fees separate them. Xapo Bank charges a mandatory $1,000 annual membership fee and secures USD balances up to the value of £120,000 under the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme. Abra charges no flat annual membership fee, but assesses a 1.00% origination fee and a 0.20% annual collateral fee on USDC borrowing. Yield seekers get up to 7.48% APY on stablecoins and multi-asset exposure through Abra, whereas Xapo Bank focuses strictly on USD and Bitcoin holdings.

Abra3.8/5
VS

Quick verdict

The core distinction rests between an SEC-registered investment adviser providing multi-token yield and a private bank offering statutory fiat protection. Xapo Bank functions as a licensed credit institution where USD balances carry legal protection up to £120,000, paying out daily returns directly in Bitcoin. Abra operates an advisory framework with tokenized yield vehicles across multiple layer-one blockchains, alongside higher borrowing leverage on Bitcoin and Ethereum.

Choose Abra if you want to deploy capital across Bitcoin, Ethereum, or Solana, borrow at up to 50% loan-to-value without early repayment penalties, or avoid fixed annual subscription charges on your balances.

Choose Xapo Bank if you hold large cash reserves, want fiat balances backed by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme, and generate enough interest to offset the mandatory $1,000 annual membership fee while earning daily yields in Bitcoin.

Feature
Ratings
Our score3.8/54.3/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Rates3.54.0
Security4.04.5
Transparency4.04.5
Flexibility3.54.0
Support3.54.5
Specs
KYC requiredNot disclosed Yes
ProductsSavings / earn, Crypto-backed loansSavings / earn, Crypto-backed loans
Highest advertised APY7.48%4.6%
Max loan-to-value50%40%
Loan APR from4.48%Not disclosed
Available inNot disclosedUnited Kingdom, Global
InsuranceNot disclosedGibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme covers USD deposits up to £120,000 equivalent; Lloyd's of London covers BTC custody
Licenses & registrationsSEC-registered investment adviserGibraltar banking licence (GFSC)
Flexible (withdraw any time) Yes Yes
Auto-compoundingNot disclosed Yes
Company
Founded20142013
Headquarters—Gibraltar
InvestorsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Operates Abra Capital Management as an SEC-registered investment adviser
  • Open-term crypto loans carry no early prepayment penalties
  • Uses segregated accounts with Fireblocks qualified custody integrations
  • Yield strategies span Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, and stablecoins
  • Licensed Gibraltar bank with deposit guarantee up to £120,000 on USD
  • USD savings earn daily interest paid directly in Bitcoin
  • Bitcoin custody balances are legally segregated from bank operating assets
  • BTC-backed loans allow liquidity up to 40% LTV without selling holdings
Cons
  • USDC borrowing requires a 1.00% origination fee and 0.20% annual collateral fee
  • Requires complete identity verification and an investment advisory agreement
  • Abra Perps and select trading features exclude all United States clients
  • Yield rates are variable and dependent on underlying DeFi and staking protocols
  • $1,000 annual membership fee limits value for smaller depositors
  • Bitcoin holdings are not covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme
  • The BTC Credit Fund introduces counterparty credit risk via institutional lending
  • Mandatory KYC identity verification required before account access
Best forPrivate wealth crypto holders, Family offices and corporate treasuries, Borrowers seeking open-term credit linesHigh-net-worth Bitcoin holders, Savers accumulating Bitcoin yield from cash, Borrowers seeking non-taxable liquidity

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

FAQ

Which platform offers higher loan-to-value limits?

Abra offers higher limits, allowing borrowers to access USD or USDC at up to 50% loan-to-value against Bitcoin and Ethereum. Xapo Bank caps its Bitcoin-backed cash borrowing at 40% loan-to-value.

How do deposit protections differ between Abra and Xapo Bank?

Xapo Bank protects fiat USD balances up to the equivalent of £120,000 under the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme. Abra holds assets in segregated multi-party computation accounts through qualified custodians, but its products carry no statutory deposit insurance.

Which assets do Abra and Xapo Bank support for yield?

Abra supports tokenized yield strategies for Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, and USD stablecoins. Xapo Bank restricts its yield products to fiat USD balances, standard Bitcoin balances, and its opt-in institutional BTC Credit Fund.

Is Abra cheaper to use than Xapo Bank?

Abra avoids the flat $1,000 annual membership fee that Xapo Bank requires for an active account. However, Abra charges a 1.00% origination fee and a 0.20% annual collateral fee on USDC credit lines.

More comparisons