OpenZeppelin vs R3

How OpenZeppelin vs R3 compare on our ratings, infrastructure provider specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
R33.6/5
Feature
Ratings
Our score4.5/53.6/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Reliability5.04.5
Chain coverage4.53.0
Pricing4.02.5
Developer experience5.03.5
Support4.04.0
Specs
ServicesDeveloper toolingDeveloper tooling
Chains supported102
Free tier Yes Yes
Pricing fromFree for open-source toolsNot disclosed
Enterprise SLA Yes Yes
Open source Yes Yes
Free tier limitsOpen-source contracts, Relayer, and Monitor under AGPL-3.0 and MIT licensesNot disclosed
Company
Founded20152014
Headquarters—United States
InvestorsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Core contract libraries and tooling are free and open source
  • Used by 9 of the top 10 stablecoins and top 10 tokenized funds
  • Supports EVM networks along with Solana, Stellar, and TRON
  • Holds SOC 2 Type II and CCSS institutional security compliance
  • Over $112M in backing from 33 institutional investors
  • Open-source core architecture available through the Corda framework
  • Direct integration of institutional credit and debt instruments into Solana DeFi
  • Long operational track record spanning over a decade with major financial institutions
Cons
  • Hosted Defender SaaS shuts down permanently on July 1, 2026
  • Self-hosting Relayer and Monitor creates internal devops maintenance overhead
  • Custom security audit and Continuous Security advisory fees require institutional quotes
  • Institutional vaults carry external off-chain borrower and credit default risks
  • Corda Enterprise is a commercial edition separate from the open-source Corda platform
Best forSmart contract developers deploying standard tokens, Institutions building regulated stablecoins and funds, Teams needing automated, self-hosted transaction relayingInstitutions tokenizing private credit, Solana DeFi protocols seeking collateral, Enterprises running permissioned ledgers

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons