Fireblocks vs Komainu

How Fireblocks vs Komainu compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
Komainu3.9/5
Feature
Ratings
Our score4.3/53.9/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.04.0
Compliance4.04.0
Asset support5.04.5
Features4.53.5
Support4.03.5
Specs
Custody modelQualified custodian, MPC, HSM, Self-custody softwareQualified custodian, MPC, HSM
ClientsInstitutions, Funds, CorporatesInstitutions, Funds
Regulated Yes Yes
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
InsuranceNot disclosedUp to $820M of specie capacity for clients to buy their own ring-fenced cover, alongside Komainu's own insurance program
Assets supportedNot disclosed6,000
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), FinCEN MSB registration (US), State money transmitter licenses in 37 states and DC (US)JFSC fund services custodian registration (Jersey), JFSC virtual asset service provider registration (Jersey), VARA VASP license, virtual asset custody (Dubai, UAE), FCA MLR cryptoasset registration (UK)
MPC Yes Yes
Cold storage Yes Yes
Qualified custodian YesNot disclosed
Company
Founded—2018
HeadquartersUnited StatesJersey
InvestorsD1 Capital Partners, Spark CapitalNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Qualified custody through NYDFS-chartered Fireblocks Trust alongside self-custody software
  • Thousands of assets across more than 200 blockchains
  • SOC 2 Type 2 with zero material findings, plus ISO 27001 and CCSS QSP Level 3
  • Air-gapped MPC cold wallet and an HSM option (KeyLink) for banks
  • JFSC custodian and depositary registration plus a VARA VASP custody license in Dubai
  • SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II attestations with ISO 27001 certification
  • HSM and MPC options, including air-gapped wallets that sign by QR code
  • Custody for 6,000+ tokens on 40+ blockchains in bankruptcy-remote, segregated wallets
Cons
  • Key-loss claims from StakeHound and the Celsius plan administrator
  • Licenses are US-only, with no MiCA or other non-US authorization listed
  • Custom plans start at $36,000 a year
  • The $820M specie capacity is cover that clients buy for themselves
  • Licensed entities only in Jersey, Dubai and the UK, with no EU or US company
  • Staking covers eight assets, a short list next to 40+ custody blockchains
Best forExchanges and payment companies building in-house custody, Funds and RIAs that need a New York qualified custodian, Fintechs launching embedded or white-label walletsETP issuers that need a JFSC-regulated custodian, Asset managers issuing tokenized fund share classes, Trading firms using custody-held collateral on Deribit or Bybit

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons