Fireblocks vs Hex Trust

How Fireblocks vs Hex Trust compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
Feature
Ratings
Our score4.3/54.0/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.03.5
Compliance4.04.0
Asset support5.04.5
Features4.54.5
Support4.04.0
Specs
Custody modelQualified custodian, MPC, HSM, Self-custody softwareQualified custodian, HSM
ClientsInstitutions, Funds, CorporatesNot disclosed
Regulated Yes Yes
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
InsuranceNot disclosedUp to $25M in aggregate across all clients (custodian fraud, physical loss of private keys)
Assets supportedNot disclosed501
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), FinCEN MSB registration (US), State money transmitter licenses in 37 states and DC (US)MAS Major Payment Institution license (Singapore), VARA VASP license, custody (Dubai, UAE), VARA VASP license, broker-dealer (Dubai, UAE), Trustee Ordinance trust company registration (Hong Kong), Companies Registry TCSP license (Hong Kong)
MPC YesNot disclosed
Cold storage Yes Yes
Qualified custodian YesNot disclosed
Company
Founded—2018
HeadquartersUnited States—
InvestorsD1 Capital Partners, Spark CapitalNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Qualified custody through NYDFS-chartered Fireblocks Trust alongside self-custody software
  • Thousands of assets across more than 200 blockchains
  • SOC 2 Type 2 with zero material findings, plus ISO 27001 and CCSS QSP Level 3
  • Air-gapped MPC cold wallet and an HSM option (KeyLink) for banks
  • 501 assets across 31 blockchains on Hex Safe
  • SOC 2 Type II and SOC 1 Type II reports, plus CSA STAR Level 2
  • MAS Major Payment Institution license and two active VARA licenses
  • FIPS 140-3 Level 3 HSMs in air-gapped vaults behind data diodes
Cons
  • Key-loss claims from StakeHound and the Celsius plan administrator
  • Licenses are US-only, with no MiCA or other non-US authorization listed
  • Custom plans start at $36,000 a year
  • Insurance capped at $25 million in aggregate across all clients
  • No EU license listed on the current Trust Center
  • Newest listed SOC report dates from December 2023
Best forExchanges and payment companies building in-house custody, Funds and RIAs that need a New York qualified custodian, Fintechs launching embedded or white-label walletsToken foundations that want custody, staking and DeFi access from one provider, Institutions in Asia and the Gulf that need MAS- or VARA-licensed custody, High-net-worth clients of the Aura wealth platform

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons