Coinbase Prime vs Ripple Custody

How Coinbase Prime vs Ripple Custody compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

Feature
Ratings
Our score4.1/53.8/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.04.0
Compliance4.03.5
Asset support4.03.5
Features4.54.0
Support4.04.0
Specs
Custody modelNot disclosedSelf-custody software, MPC, HSM
ClientsNot disclosedInstitutions, Funds, Corporates
Regulated YesNot disclosed
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
InsuranceUp to $320M commercial crime policy (insurer syndicate), shared by all Coinbase customersNot disclosed
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), NYDFS BitLicense (US), CSSF MiCA CASP authorization (Luxembourg)NYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), OCC national trust bank charter (US), NYDFS BitLicense (US), State money transmitter licenses (US), CSSF MiCA CASP authorization (Luxembourg), CSSF electronic money institution license (Luxembourg), FCA EMI license and cryptoasset registration (UK), MAS Major Payment Institution license (Singapore), CBI VASP registration (Ireland)
MPCNot disclosed Yes
Cold storage Yes Yes
Qualified custodian Yes No
Company
Founded20122012
HeadquartersUnited StatesUnited States
InvestorsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Custody at a NYDFS-chartered trust company that acts as a fiduciary under New York Banking Law
  • SOC 1 Type 2 and SOC 2 Type 2 reports cover private key management controls
  • Coinbase generally keeps no more than 2% of custodied assets in hot wallets
  • REST, FIX and WebSocket APIs with TWAP and VWAP order types
  • Keys stay in client-controlled HSMs or cloud, and Ripple cannot sign or access assets
  • Deployable on premises, in private cloud or hybrid
  • Bank users include BBVA, DBS, DZ Bank and Intesa Sanpaolo
  • Parent holds an NYDFS trust charter and final OCC approval for a national trust bank
Cons
  • The $320 million crime policy is shared by every Coinbase customer
  • $50 million NYDFS penalty in 2023 over anti-money laundering and KYC failures
  • The May 2025 data theft incident led to $311.2 million in cash payments
  • The OCC charter for Coinbase National Trust Company was a conditional approval in April 2026
  • Ripple Custody does not act as a qualified custodian
  • Coverage limited to 28 ledgers in Vault and 11 chains in Wallets
  • Staking support differs between the docs and Ripple's announcements
  • SEC case left Ripple with a $125 million civil penalty and an injunction
Best forHedge funds that want custody and execution in one account, ETF sponsors and asset managers that need a New York trust company as custodian, Trading desks that route orders over FIXBanks running custody on their own HSMs, Fintechs adding white-label MPC wallets, Institutions tokenizing securities on the XRP Ledger

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons