Coinbase Prime vs Komainu

How Coinbase Prime vs Komainu compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
Komainu3.9/5
Feature
Ratings
Our score4.1/53.9/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.04.0
Compliance4.04.0
Asset support4.04.5
Features4.53.5
Support4.03.5
Specs
Custody modelNot disclosedQualified custodian, MPC, HSM
ClientsNot disclosedInstitutions, Funds
Regulated Yes Yes
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
InsuranceUp to $320M commercial crime policy (insurer syndicate), shared by all Coinbase customersUp to $820M of specie capacity for clients to buy their own ring-fenced cover, alongside Komainu's own insurance program
Assets supportedNot disclosed6,000
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), NYDFS BitLicense (US), CSSF MiCA CASP authorization (Luxembourg)JFSC fund services custodian registration (Jersey), JFSC virtual asset service provider registration (Jersey), VARA VASP license, virtual asset custody (Dubai, UAE), FCA MLR cryptoasset registration (UK)
MPCNot disclosed Yes
Cold storage Yes Yes
Qualified custodian YesNot disclosed
Company
Founded20122018
HeadquartersUnited StatesJersey
InvestorsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Custody at a NYDFS-chartered trust company that acts as a fiduciary under New York Banking Law
  • SOC 1 Type 2 and SOC 2 Type 2 reports cover private key management controls
  • Coinbase generally keeps no more than 2% of custodied assets in hot wallets
  • REST, FIX and WebSocket APIs with TWAP and VWAP order types
  • JFSC custodian and depositary registration plus a VARA VASP custody license in Dubai
  • SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II attestations with ISO 27001 certification
  • HSM and MPC options, including air-gapped wallets that sign by QR code
  • Custody for 6,000+ tokens on 40+ blockchains in bankruptcy-remote, segregated wallets
Cons
  • The $320 million crime policy is shared by every Coinbase customer
  • $50 million NYDFS penalty in 2023 over anti-money laundering and KYC failures
  • The May 2025 data theft incident led to $311.2 million in cash payments
  • The OCC charter for Coinbase National Trust Company was a conditional approval in April 2026
  • The $820M specie capacity is cover that clients buy for themselves
  • Licensed entities only in Jersey, Dubai and the UK, with no EU or US company
  • Staking covers eight assets, a short list next to 40+ custody blockchains
Best forHedge funds that want custody and execution in one account, ETF sponsors and asset managers that need a New York trust company as custodian, Trading desks that route orders over FIXETP issuers that need a JFSC-regulated custodian, Asset managers issuing tokenized fund share classes, Trading firms using custody-held collateral on Deribit or Bybit

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.