Coinbase Prime vs Hex Trust

How Coinbase Prime vs Hex Trust compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
Feature
Ratings
Our score4.1/54.0/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.03.5
Compliance4.04.0
Asset support4.04.5
Features4.54.5
Support4.04.0
Specs
Custody modelNot disclosedQualified custodian, HSM
Regulated Yes Yes
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
InsuranceUp to $320M commercial crime policy (insurer syndicate), shared by all Coinbase customersUp to $25M in aggregate across all clients (custodian fraud, physical loss of private keys)
Assets supportedNot disclosed501
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), NYDFS BitLicense (US), CSSF MiCA CASP authorization (Luxembourg)MAS Major Payment Institution license (Singapore), VARA VASP license, custody (Dubai, UAE), VARA VASP license, broker-dealer (Dubai, UAE), Trustee Ordinance trust company registration (Hong Kong), Companies Registry TCSP license (Hong Kong)
Cold storage Yes Yes
Qualified custodian YesNot disclosed
Company
Founded20122018
HeadquartersUnited States—
InvestorsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Custody at a NYDFS-chartered trust company that acts as a fiduciary under New York Banking Law
  • SOC 1 Type 2 and SOC 2 Type 2 reports cover private key management controls
  • Coinbase generally keeps no more than 2% of custodied assets in hot wallets
  • REST, FIX and WebSocket APIs with TWAP and VWAP order types
  • 501 assets across 31 blockchains on Hex Safe
  • SOC 2 Type II and SOC 1 Type II reports, plus CSA STAR Level 2
  • MAS Major Payment Institution license and two active VARA licenses
  • FIPS 140-3 Level 3 HSMs in air-gapped vaults behind data diodes
Cons
  • The $320 million crime policy is shared by every Coinbase customer
  • $50 million NYDFS penalty in 2023 over anti-money laundering and KYC failures
  • The May 2025 data theft incident led to $311.2 million in cash payments
  • The OCC charter for Coinbase National Trust Company was a conditional approval in April 2026
  • Insurance capped at $25 million in aggregate across all clients
  • No EU license listed on the current Trust Center
  • Newest listed SOC report dates from December 2023
Best forHedge funds that want custody and execution in one account, ETF sponsors and asset managers that need a New York trust company as custodian, Trading desks that route orders over FIXToken foundations that want custody, staking and DeFi access from one provider, Institutions in Asia and the Gulf that need MAS- or VARA-licensed custody, High-net-worth clients of the Aura wealth platform

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.