Cobo vs Fireblocks

How Cobo vs Fireblocks compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

Cobo3.6/5
VS
Feature
Ratings
Our score3.6/54.3/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security3.54.0
Compliance2.54.0
Asset support4.55.0
Features4.54.5
Support3.54.0
Specs
KYC required YesNot disclosed
Custody modelMPC, HSM, Self-custody softwareQualified custodian, MPC, HSM, Self-custody software
ClientsInstitutions, Funds, CorporatesInstitutions, Funds, Corporates
RegulatedNot disclosed Yes
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
Assets supported3,000Not disclosed
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersNot disclosedNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), FinCEN MSB registration (US), State money transmitter licenses in 37 states and DC (US)
MPC Yes Yes
Cold storage Yes Yes
Qualified custodianNot disclosed Yes
Company
Founded2017—
HeadquartersSingaporeUnited States
InvestorsNot disclosedD1 Capital Partners, Spark Capital
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Published Starter and Standard plans at $299 and $999 a month, with no cap on assets under custody
  • More than 3,000 tokens across 80+ chains through one WaaS 2.0 API
  • Custodial keys protected by HSMs and Intel SGX, with about 95% of funds in cold wallets
  • MPC wallets in which no single party, Cobo included, holds a complete key
  • Qualified custody through NYDFS-chartered Fireblocks Trust alongside self-custody software
  • Thousands of assets across more than 200 blockchains
  • SOC 2 Type 2 with zero material findings, plus ISO 27001 and CCSS QSP Level 3
  • Air-gapped MPC cold wallet and an HSM option (KeyLink) for banks
Cons
  • The custody license Cobo cites is a Hong Kong TCSP license; Singapore and Middle East licensing was still in progress in November 2025
  • Custodial wallets and 24/7 support require the custom-priced Enterprise plan
  • Custodial wallets cover fewer assets, 70+ chains and 2,000+ tokens, than the headline figures
  • Key-loss claims from StakeHound and the Celsius plan administrator
  • Licenses are US-only, with no MiCA or other non-US authorization listed
  • Custom plans start at $36,000 a year
Best forExchanges and brokers that need custodial and MPC wallets behind one API, Payment and fintech companies building wallets for their own customers, Trading firms that want off-exchange settlement through SuperLoopExchanges and payment companies building in-house custody, Funds and RIAs that need a New York qualified custodian, Fintechs launching embedded or white-label wallets

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons