BitBox vs Keystone: USB simplicity or air-gapped QR signing
BitBox is a Swiss-made hardware wallet line from Shift Crypto AG, with BitBox02 and BitBox02 Nova models, Bitcoin-only and Multi editions, and the BitBoxApp. Keystone is an air-gapped hardware wallet from Yanssie HK Limited. Its Keystone 3 Pro uses QR codes and microSD cards for signing, rather than a direct network connection.
The main split is transaction flow. BitBox02 uses USB, while BitBox02 Nova also supports Bluetooth on iPhone and iPad. Keystone uses a 4-inch touchscreen, three secure-element chips and fingerprint verification. Asset coverage differs sharply: BitBox lists Bitcoin and Ethereum, while Keystone's multi-coin firmware supports more than 5,500 assets, with availability varying by wallet integration. Keystone 3 Pro is listed at a $149 sale price and $183.90 regular price.
Quick verdict
The deciding difference is how each device connects to signing software. BitBox keeps the workflow in the BitBoxApp, with USB on both current models and Bluetooth on BitBox02 Nova for iPhone and iPad. Keystone keeps signing air-gapped through QR codes or microSD, which adds transaction steps but keeps the device away from a network connection. Both support self-custody. BitBox has fully open-source firmware and app code, a Census Labs firmware audit, and a dual-chip design. Keystone has three secure elements and a Keylabs audit completed in November 2023. BitBox's July 2026 Multi-edition signing issue required firmware 9.26.3.
Choose BitBox if fully open-source firmware and app code, microSD backups, USB access, a Bitcoin-only edition or native iPhone and iPad support matter more than broad asset coverage. Its BitBoxApp also includes a Lightning wallet. The device line is designed for self-custody, with 12 or 24 recovery words and BIP39 passphrases.
Choose Keystone if air-gapped QR signing, a 4-inch touchscreen, three secure elements or support for more than 5,500 assets are the deciding features. Keystone also supports up to three recovery phrases, multisignature wallets and more than 45 integrated software wallets. Its listed Keystone 3 Pro price is $149 on sale and $183.90 regularly.
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Ratings | ||
| Our score | 4.0/5 | 4.0/5 |
| User rating | No reviews yet | No reviews yet |
| Security | 4.5 | 4.5 |
| Build & design | 4.5 | 4.5 |
| Ease of use | 4.5 | 4.0 |
| Coin support | 3.5 | 4.0 |
| Value for money | 3.0 | 3.0 |
| Specs | ||
| Price from | Not disclosed | $149 |
| Connectivity | Not disclosed | QR code (air-gapped), microSD |
| Secure element | Yes | Yes |
| Firmware | Fully open source | Fully open source |
| Display | Screen + buttons | Touchscreen |
| Air-gapped signing | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Bitcoin-only | Yes | No |
| Supported assets | Not disclosed | 5,500 |
| BIP39 passphrase | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Multisig support | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Companion app | BitBoxApp | 45+ integrated software wallets, including MetaMask, OKX Web3 Wallet, BlueWallet and Keplr |
| Touchscreen | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Backup options | microSD card, Recovery words | Three recovery phrases, SLIP-39 mnemonic sharding, Keystone Tablet, Keystone Tablet Plus |
| Company | ||
| Founded | 2015 | 2018 |
| Headquarters | Switzerland | — |
| Investors | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Strengths and weaknesses | ||
| Pros |
|
|
| Cons |
|
|
| Best for | Long-term Bitcoin self-custody, Open-source wallet users, iPhone and iPad owners | Long-term self-custody, Air-gapped transaction signing, Multi-chain wallet holders |
Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.
FAQ
Is BitBox cheaper than Keystone?
Keystone 3 Pro has a listed sale price of $149 and a regular price of $183.90. BitBox has Bitcoin-only and Multi hardware editions, with pricing varying by model.
Which supports more assets, BitBox or Keystone?
Keystone supports more than 5,500 assets through its multi-coin firmware, while BitBox lists Bitcoin and Ethereum among its supported chains. Keystone's token availability varies across chains and software wallets.
Are BitBox and Keystone custodial wallets?
Both are hardware wallets for self-custody, with private keys kept on the device. BitBox uses the BitBoxApp for account management, while Keystone connects to compatible software wallets through QR codes and microSD cards.
Which hardware wallet works with an iPhone?
BitBox02 Nova supports Bluetooth with iPhone and iPad, while the BitBoxApp also runs on iOS. Keystone's listed transaction workflow uses QR codes and microSD cards.
Which one uses air-gapped QR signing?
Keystone uses air-gapped QR signing and also supports microSD communication. BitBox02 uses USB, while BitBox02 Nova adds Bluetooth support for iPhone and iPad.

