Fireblocks vs Zodia Custody

How Fireblocks vs Zodia Custody compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
Feature
Ratings
Our score4.3/53.8/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.04.0
Compliance4.04.0
Asset support5.03.0
Features4.54.0
Support4.04.0
Specs
Custody modelQualified custodian, MPC, HSM, Self-custody softwareQualified custodian, HSM
ClientsInstitutions, Funds, CorporatesInstitutions, Funds, Corporates
Regulated Yes Yes
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
InsuranceNot disclosed$100M digital asset custody policy (no retention), plus $55M crime, $10M professional indemnity and $275M cyber cover
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), FinCEN MSB registration (US), State money transmitter licenses in 37 states and DC (US)CSSF MiCA CASP authorization (Luxembourg), CSSF payment institution license (Luxembourg), FCA cryptoasset registration under MLRs (UK), ADGM FSRA Financial Services Permission (UAE), Companies Registry TCSP license (Hong Kong)
MPC YesNot disclosed
Cold storage Yes Yes
Qualified custodian YesNot disclosed
Company
Founded—2020
HeadquartersUnited StatesUnited Kingdom
InvestorsD1 Capital Partners, Spark CapitalNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Qualified custody through NYDFS-chartered Fireblocks Trust alongside self-custody software
  • Thousands of assets across more than 200 blockchains
  • SOC 2 Type 2 with zero material findings, plus ISO 27001 and CCSS QSP Level 3
  • Air-gapped MPC cold wallet and an HSM option (KeyLink) for banks
  • Shareholders include Standard Chartered, Northern Trust, SBI Holdings, NAB and Emirates NBD
  • CSSF MiCA authorization since December 2025, plus a payment institution license for e-money tokens
  • Published insurance limits, including a $100M custody policy with no retention and $275M cyber cover
  • Interchange settlement with Deribit and LMAX Digital while assets stay in cold storage
Cons
  • Key-loss claims from StakeHound and the Celsius plan administrator
  • Licenses are US-only, with no MiCA or other non-US authorization listed
  • Custom plans start at $36,000 a year
  • Standard Chartered takeover still needs regulatory approval, and the software arm is splitting off
  • UK entity holds only an FCA anti-money laundering registration, with no FOS or FSCS protection
  • Listed SOC 2 report is Type I, not Type II
  • Only 78 listed tokens and no public fee schedule
Best forExchanges and payment companies building in-house custody, Funds and RIAs that need a New York qualified custodian, Fintechs launching embedded or white-label walletsAsset managers and ETP issuers that need MiCA-authorized custody in the EU, Trading firms settling off-exchange with venues on Interchange, Banks and wealth managers that want a bank-backed custodian

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons