Fireblocks vs Sygnum Bank

How Fireblocks vs Sygnum Bank compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
Feature
Ratings
Our score4.3/53.8/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.03.5
Compliance4.04.5
Asset support5.03.0
Features4.54.0
Support4.04.0
Specs
Custody modelQualified custodian, MPC, HSM, Self-custody softwareQualified custodian
ClientsInstitutions, Funds, CorporatesInstitutions, Funds, High-net-worth
Regulated Yes Yes
SOC 2 report YesNot disclosed
Staking YesNot disclosed
API access YesNot disclosed
Licenses & chartersNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), FinCEN MSB registration (US), State money transmitter licenses in 37 states and DC (US)FINMA banking and securities dealer license (Switzerland), MAS Capital Markets Services license (Singapore), MAS Major Payment Institution license (Singapore), ADGM FSRA Financial Services Permission (UAE), MiCA CASP authorization (Liechtenstein)
MPC YesNot disclosed
Cold storage YesNot disclosed
Qualified custodian Yes Yes
Company
Founded—2018
HeadquartersUnited StatesSwitzerland
InvestorsD1 Capital Partners, Spark CapitalNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Qualified custody through NYDFS-chartered Fireblocks Trust alongside self-custody software
  • Thousands of assets across more than 200 blockchains
  • SOC 2 Type 2 with zero material findings, plus ISO 27001 and CCSS QSP Level 3
  • Air-gapped MPC cold wallet and an HSM option (KeyLink) for banks
  • FINMA bank license since 2019, plus MAS, ADGM and MiCA authorizations
  • Protect off-exchange custody passed $1 billion in assets in March 2026
  • MiCA passport to all 30 EEA states since June 2026
  • PwC ISAE 3402 Type 2 and ISAE 3000 assurance on the custody platform
Cons
  • Key-loss claims from StakeHound and the Celsius plan administrator
  • Licenses are US-only, with no MiCA or other non-US authorization listed
  • Custom plans start at $36,000 a year
  • Custody is bank-held, so clients depend on Sygnum's key management
  • EU MiCA authorization arrived in June 2026, after a Q1 2025 target
  • Board and executive changes at the 2026 annual meeting
Best forExchanges and payment companies building in-house custody, Funds and RIAs that need a New York qualified custodian, Fintechs launching embedded or white-label walletsHedge funds and trading firms that want exchange collateral held at a bank, High-net-worth clients and family offices seeking bank custody for crypto, Banks adding digital asset services through a partner bank

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons