Fireblocks vs Kraken Custody

How Fireblocks vs Kraken Custody compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
Feature
Ratings
Our score4.3/54.0/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.03.5
Compliance4.04.0
Asset support5.04.5
Features4.54.5
Support4.04.0
Specs
Custody modelQualified custodian, MPC, HSM, Self-custody softwareQualified custodian, MPC, HSM
ClientsInstitutions, Funds, CorporatesInstitutions, Corporates, High-net-worth
Regulated Yes Yes
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
Assets supportedNot disclosed200
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), FinCEN MSB registration (US), State money transmitter licenses in 37 states and DC (US)Wyoming Division of Banking SPDI bank charter (US), Central Bank of Ireland MiCA CASP authorization (Ireland)
MPC Yes Yes
Cold storage Yes Yes
Qualified custodian Yes Yes
Company
Founded—2011
HeadquartersUnited StatesUS
InvestorsD1 Capital Partners, Spark CapitalNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Qualified custody through NYDFS-chartered Fireblocks Trust alongside self-custody software
  • Thousands of assets across more than 200 blockchains
  • SOC 2 Type 2 with zero material findings, plus ISO 27001 and CCSS QSP Level 3
  • Air-gapped MPC cold wallet and an HSM option (KeyLink) for banks
  • Kraken Financial holds a Wyoming SPDI charter, and Kraken says it meets the SEC Custody Rule's qualified custodian definition
  • Federal Reserve master account since March 4, 2026, with direct Fedwire access
  • Central Bank of Ireland MiCA authorization covers custody for EEA clients
  • More than 200 custody assets, including tokenized stocks, ETFs and Centrifuge's JAAA
Cons
  • Key-loss claims from StakeHound and the Celsius plan administrator
  • Licenses are US-only, with no MiCA or other non-US authorization listed
  • Custom plans start at $36,000 a year
  • Custody launched in March 2024, so the operating record is short
  • US custody is limited to certain states, and vaults are reached only through the web
  • Parent Payward paid $30 million in 2023 to settle SEC charges over a staking-as-a-service program
  • The OCC national trust charter for Payward National Trust Company is still an application
Best forExchanges and payment companies building in-house custody, Funds and RIAs that need a New York qualified custodian, Fintechs launching embedded or white-label walletsTrading firms that want custody assets to back Kraken Prime credit, Stablecoin issuers and treasury companies that need segregated, bankruptcy-remote reserves, EEA firms that need MiCA-authorized custody from an Irish entity

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons