DFNS vs Fireblocks

How DFNS vs Fireblocks compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

DFNS3.5/5
VS
Feature
Ratings
Our score3.5/54.3/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.04.0
Compliance2.54.0
Asset support4.05.0
Features4.04.5
Support3.54.0
Specs
Custody modelMPC, HSM, Self-custody softwareQualified custodian, MPC, HSM, Self-custody software
ClientsInstitutions, CorporatesInstitutions, Funds, Corporates
Regulated No Yes
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
Insurance$15M per year cyber, E&O and crime cover for DFNS itself (Beazley, Munich Re); DFNS holds no client assetsNot disclosed
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersNot disclosedNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), FinCEN MSB registration (US), State money transmitter licenses in 37 states and DC (US)
MPC Yes Yes
Cold storageNot disclosed Yes
Qualified custodian No Yes
Company
Founded2020—
HeadquartersFranceUnited States
InvestorsNot disclosedD1 Capital Partners, Spark Capital
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • KPMG renewed its SOC 2 Type II report for 2024 with no exceptions noted
  • Named third-party pentests and audits every year since 2021
  • Keys can run on MPC, HSMs, TEEs or bring-your-own-key, hosted or on premises
  • Published pricing from $800 a year and a 30-day free testnet sandbox
  • Qualified custody through NYDFS-chartered Fireblocks Trust alongside self-custody software
  • Thousands of assets across more than 200 blockchains
  • SOC 2 Type 2 with zero material findings, plus ISO 27001 and CCSS QSP Level 3
  • Air-gapped MPC cold wallet and an HSM option (KeyLink) for banks
Cons
  • Holds no license and takes no custody, so clients carry custody and regulatory duties
  • The $15 million insurance is corporate cyber, E&O and crime cover for DFNS itself
  • Marketing claims 100+ blockchains while the documentation names 59 networks
  • Key-loss claims from StakeHound and the Celsius plan administrator
  • Licenses are US-only, with no MiCA or other non-US authorization listed
  • Custom plans start at $36,000 a year
Best forBanks and licensed custodians building in-house custody, Fintechs embedding wallets and stablecoin payments, Institutions that must keep keys in their own HSMs or data centersExchanges and payment companies building in-house custody, Funds and RIAs that need a New York qualified custodian, Fintechs launching embedded or white-label wallets

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons