Crypto Finance vs Fireblocks

How Crypto Finance vs Fireblocks compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
Feature
Ratings
Our score4.0/54.3/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security3.54.0
Compliance4.54.0
Asset support3.55.0
Features4.54.5
Support4.04.0
Specs
Custody modelQualified custodian, HSM, Self-custody softwareQualified custodian, MPC, HSM, Self-custody software
ClientsInstitutions, FundsInstitutions, Funds, Corporates
Regulated Yes Yes
SOC 2 reportNot disclosed Yes
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersFINMA securities firm license (Switzerland), BaFin crypto custody license (Germany), MiCA CASP authorization (Germany)NYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), FinCEN MSB registration (US), State money transmitter licenses in 37 states and DC (US)
MPCNot disclosed Yes
Cold storageNot disclosed Yes
Qualified custodian Yes Yes
Company
Founded2017—
HeadquartersSwitzerlandUnited States
InvestorsDeutsche Börse GroupD1 Capital Partners, Spark Capital
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Majority-owned by Deutsche Börse, with crypto custody available through existing Clearstream accounts
  • FINMA securities firm in Zurich plus BaFin licenses and a MiCA authorization passported to 14 EEA countries
  • FIPS 140-2 Level 3 HSMs hosted in geo-redundant Swiss data centers
  • Staking for ETH, SOL, ADA and DOT alongside 24/7 principal trading
  • Qualified custody through NYDFS-chartered Fireblocks Trust alongside self-custody software
  • Thousands of assets across more than 200 blockchains
  • SOC 2 Type 2 with zero material findings, plus ISO 27001 and CCSS QSP Level 3
  • Air-gapped MPC cold wallet and an HSM option (KeyLink) for banks
Cons
  • Insurance is described only as coverage that follows market standards
  • SOC 2 Type II claim covers the storage infrastructure, and SOC 1 is cited at Type 1 level
  • Institutional client base only; individuals reach it through partner banks such as KBC
  • Key-loss claims from StakeHound and the Celsius plan administrator
  • Licenses are US-only, with no MiCA or other non-US authorization listed
  • Custom plans start at $36,000 a year
Best forEuropean banks adding crypto custody under FINMA or BaFin supervision, Clearstream clients that want crypto in existing accounts, ETP issuers that need a SIX-approved custodianExchanges and payment companies building in-house custody, Funds and RIAs that need a New York qualified custodian, Fintechs launching embedded or white-label wallets

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons