Copper vs Fireblocks

How Copper vs Fireblocks compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

Copper3.5/5
VS
Feature
Ratings
Our score3.5/54.3/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.04.0
Compliance2.54.0
Asset support4.05.0
Features4.54.5
Support3.04.0
Specs
Custody modelNot disclosedQualified custodian, MPC, HSM, Self-custody software
ClientsInstitutions, FundsInstitutions, Funds, Corporates
Regulated Yes Yes
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
Insurance$500M specie market insurance placed in the Lloyd's of London market via Aon, plus a crypto crime policyNot disclosed
Assets supported500Not disclosed
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersSEC broker-dealer registration, FINRA member (US), VQF SRO financial intermediary registration (Switzerland)NYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), FinCEN MSB registration (US), State money transmitter licenses in 37 states and DC (US)
MPC Yes Yes
Cold storage Yes Yes
Qualified custodianNot disclosed Yes
Company
Founded2018—
Headquarters—United States
InvestorsNot disclosedD1 Capital Partners, Spark Capital
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • ClearLoop off-exchange settlement links custody to exchanges including OKX, Coinbase, Bybit and Deribit
  • 2-of-3 MPC vaults with a third-party shard holder and segregated, off-balance-sheet wallets
  • $500M of specie insurance placed at Lloyd's of London through Aon, plus a crypto crime policy
  • Custody for 500+ assets on 40+ blockchains and staking on 20 networks
  • Qualified custody through NYDFS-chartered Fireblocks Trust alongside self-custody software
  • Thousands of assets across more than 200 blockchains
  • SOC 2 Type 2 with zero material findings, plus ISO 27001 and CCSS QSP Level 3
  • Air-gapped MPC cold wallet and an HSM option (KeyLink) for banks
Cons
  • Swiss contracting entity holds a VQF registration but no FINMA license
  • Liechtenstein registration waived and ADGM permissions withdrawn in September 2026
  • Company has sought a buyer since at least May 2026, and the CEO changed in September
  • US qualified custody rests on a broker-dealer approved only in August 2026
  • Key-loss claims from StakeHound and the Celsius plan administrator
  • Licenses are US-only, with no MiCA or other non-US authorization listed
  • Custom plans start at $36,000 a year
Best forTrading firms that keep collateral in custody while trading on centralized exchanges, Hedge funds running derivatives positions on Deribit, OKX or Bybit, Institutions staking across many proof-of-stake networksExchanges and payment companies building in-house custody, Funds and RIAs that need a New York qualified custodian, Fintechs launching embedded or white-label wallets

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.

More comparisons