Coinbase Prime vs Prometheum Capital

How Coinbase Prime vs Prometheum Capital compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

Feature
Ratings
Our score4.1/52.8/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.02.5
Compliance4.03.5
Asset support4.01.5
Features4.53.5
Support4.03.0
Specs
KYC requiredNot disclosed Yes
Custody modelNot disclosedQualified custodian
Regulated Yes Yes
SOC 2 report YesNot disclosed
InsuranceUp to $320M commercial crime policy (insurer syndicate), shared by all Coinbase customersNot disclosed
Staking YesNot disclosed
API access YesNot disclosed
Licenses & chartersNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), NYDFS BitLicense (US), CSSF MiCA CASP authorization (Luxembourg)SEC/FINRA special purpose broker-dealer (US), SEC/FINRA broker-dealer operating an ATS (US), SEC/FINRA issuance broker-dealer (US), SEC transfer agent registration (US)
Cold storage YesNot disclosed
Qualified custodian Yes Yes
Company
Founded20122017
HeadquartersUnited StatesUnited States
InvestorsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Custody at a NYDFS-chartered trust company that acts as a fiduciary under New York Banking Law
  • SOC 1 Type 2 and SOC 2 Type 2 reports cover private key management controls
  • Coinbase generally keeps no more than 2% of custodied assets in hot wallets
  • REST, FIX and WebSocket APIs with TWAP and VWAP order types
  • Crypto custody inside an SEC-registered, FINRA member broker-dealer under Rule 15c3-3
  • Correspondent clearing lets broker-dealers hold ETH in ordinary brokerage accounts
  • Group includes an issuance broker-dealer, an ATS and an SEC-registered transfer agent
  • No BrokerCheck disclosures for Prometheum Capital or Prometheum ATS
Cons
  • The $320 million crime policy is shared by every Coinbase customer
  • $50 million NYDFS penalty in 2023 over anti-money laundering and KYC failures
  • The May 2025 data theft incident led to $311.2 million in cash payments
  • The OCC charter for Coinbase National Trust Company was a conditional approval in April 2026
  • Narrow crypto coverage, with ETH the only token named in 2026 releases
  • Assets are not SIPC or FDIC insured, per company disclosures
  • Custody technology is described only in general terms
  • A 2023 congressional letter questioned past ties to Wanxiang and HashKey
Best forHedge funds that want custody and execution in one account, ETF sponsors and asset managers that need a New York trust company as custodian, Trading desks that route orders over FIXUS introducing broker-dealers adding crypto to client brokerage accounts, Self-clearing broker-dealers that want omnibus crypto custody, Issuers planning tokenized funds or equities in the US

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.