Coinbase Prime vs DFNS

How Coinbase Prime vs DFNS compare on our ratings, custodian specs, funding, pros and cons.

VS
DFNS3.5/5
Feature
Ratings
Our score4.1/53.5/5
User ratingNo reviews yetNo reviews yet
Security4.04.0
Compliance4.02.5
Asset support4.04.0
Features4.54.0
Support4.03.5
Specs
Custody modelNot disclosedMPC, HSM, Self-custody software
ClientsNot disclosedInstitutions, Corporates
Regulated Yes No
SOC 2 report Yes Yes
InsuranceUp to $320M commercial crime policy (insurer syndicate), shared by all Coinbase customers$15M per year cyber, E&O and crime cover for DFNS itself (Beazley, Munich Re); DFNS holds no client assets
Staking Yes Yes
API access Yes Yes
Licenses & chartersNYDFS limited purpose trust charter (US), NYDFS BitLicense (US), CSSF MiCA CASP authorization (Luxembourg)Not disclosed
MPCNot disclosed Yes
Cold storage YesNot disclosed
Qualified custodian Yes No
Company
Founded20122020
HeadquartersUnited StatesFrance
InvestorsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
  • Custody at a NYDFS-chartered trust company that acts as a fiduciary under New York Banking Law
  • SOC 1 Type 2 and SOC 2 Type 2 reports cover private key management controls
  • Coinbase generally keeps no more than 2% of custodied assets in hot wallets
  • REST, FIX and WebSocket APIs with TWAP and VWAP order types
  • KPMG renewed its SOC 2 Type II report for 2024 with no exceptions noted
  • Named third-party pentests and audits every year since 2021
  • Keys can run on MPC, HSMs, TEEs or bring-your-own-key, hosted or on premises
  • Published pricing from $800 a year and a 30-day free testnet sandbox
Cons
  • The $320 million crime policy is shared by every Coinbase customer
  • $50 million NYDFS penalty in 2023 over anti-money laundering and KYC failures
  • The May 2025 data theft incident led to $311.2 million in cash payments
  • The OCC charter for Coinbase National Trust Company was a conditional approval in April 2026
  • Holds no license and takes no custody, so clients carry custody and regulatory duties
  • The $15 million insurance is corporate cyber, E&O and crime cover for DFNS itself
  • Marketing claims 100+ blockchains while the documentation names 59 networks
Best forHedge funds that want custody and execution in one account, ETF sponsors and asset managers that need a New York trust company as custodian, Trading desks that route orders over FIXBanks and licensed custodians building in-house custody, Fintechs embedding wallets and stablecoin payments, Institutions that must keep keys in their own HSMs or data centers

Highlighted cells show the stronger value in each row. Data comes from each provider's site and public sources; check details before you sign up.